Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: power cable

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    hep's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    751
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    power cable

    wasn't sure whether this should go in electrical or ice. i need a power cable for my amp, ive worked out that i need 8 awg wire which is 8.36mm2 ive got loads of ofc speaker wire left over which is 4mm2.

    would 2 pieces of the speaker wire do the job of 1 piece of 8 awg wire or would there be any differences/loss of quality?

    its going to an alpine pdx 4.150

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    paul.mitchell1984's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    411
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    perosnally i wouldnmt use anything other than power cable however thats imo cant comment on loss of quality etc
    - Black 2.0 SRi DTi Mk4 Astra -

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    voodoojellybaby's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    129
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If ya gonna do a job, may as well do it properly. Right tools right job etc.
    And i would run 4 gauge cable, just incase ya want to add extra amps at a later date. saves pulling the trim back up.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    frostbite's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Dover
    Posts
    524
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Just go out and buy a cheap wiring kit

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    hep's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    751
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i am going to buy the 8 awg, but was wondering if it would make a difference using the other stuff

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    darrenhbk4's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the thicker the cable the better. As i have this amp as well, id advise you to use 4 guage at a minimum

Similar Threads

  1. Amp power cable
    By amrit711 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26-11-2009, 00:31
  2. Amp Power Cable and Remote Cable.
    By np51 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20-07-2009, 15:42
  3. power cable
    By steve2.2sri in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-2007, 19:16

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •