Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: lost my head unit removal tools

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    sktr4lf's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,349
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    lost my head unit removal tools

    bit of a pain,but i seem to have misplaced my JVC headunit removal tools (2 thin strips of metal)

    was just wondering if there are any alternative solutions to getting the headunit out,as i desperately want to sort some stuff out with my centre console today.

    thanks.


  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Buy some new ones, will only cost a few quid from Halfords

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Most of the headunits are held in the same way these days so if you have a mate with a pioneer or kenwood headunit nick his but don't loose them
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    chr15astra's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,588
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    butter knife mate thats how mine comes out

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    sktr4lf's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,349
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    sorted,

    i used two kitchen paring knives and a screwdriver

    actually worked better than the removal tools


  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Adam0r's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    398
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I'm in the same position.. secured my cage.. ping.. forgot to put my aerial in So gotta go and get some myself later, lol
    Drives: 1996 MK3 Vauxhall Astra - 1.6 16V DOHC Sport

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    sktr4lf's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,349
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    awww bollocks!

    bet you ive done the same damn thing lol


  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    MiddletoM's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3,245
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    that happened to me. i thought i had got all my wiring sorted so i put the cage in and splayed out the metal clips to secure it in, put in the dvd player and forgot the aerial. so after wrenching it out i plugged the aerial in only to find the aerial wire is knackered. sods law.

    that wasnt fun considering i have three wiring looms behind the console.
    "I have opinions of my own, strong opinions, but I don't always agree with them."



Similar Threads

  1. Factory Head Unit Removal Pins
    By Xilli in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28-07-2006, 20:32
  2. Standard Head Unit Removal
    By 2poc in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16-04-2004, 13:50

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •