Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: speedo and temperature not working

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Danyel's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    speedo and temperature not working

    'suv' has recently had his car into the garage having a new gear box and headgasket fitted however we went to pick it up yesturday adn speedo and temperature guage not working any ideas on what it could be coz the mechanic hasnt a clue how to fix it any ideas appreciated

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Enigma ???'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,468
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Danyel View Post
    'suv' has recently had his car into the garage having a new gear box and headgasket fitted however we went to pick it up yesturday adn speedo and temperature guage not working any ideas on what it could be coz the mechanic hasnt a clue how to fix it any ideas appreciated
    Yep could be the hub sensor not plugged in that's on the near side of the car, the temp sensor could be unplugged check that, that is near the battery just under the coil pack plug Or worse the clocks are faulty

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    suv's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    is ther a fuse that works the speedo n temp guage n am not sure if ther is a sensor on the hub need help asap

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    phil w's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2,089
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If its a mk4 it has a speedo sensor on the lefthand front hub ,the temp sender is on the cylinderhead all depending on what engine is fitted they could be in differant locations , but seeing as the gearbox has just been replaced the driveshafts would have been removed and the speed sensor disconected ....did the mechanic reconect it ?... the cylinder head has just been off the same again did the mechanic reconect the tempsender ?
    I would go back to the garage and piont this out to the mechanic and get him to check the connections whilst you are there, as this has just happend after the repairs in both locations

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    suv's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    this is starting to do my head in i have no fuses blown , av tryed puting new clocks and a sender but still nothing , i have a live and earth from the sender plug and the 3 wire has nothing and on the wire for the temp sensor i have only got a earth cud this all be related to the speedo need help asap coz av now gt no mot on the astra

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The only fuse that controls the temperature and speedo also does the fuel guage and rev counter

    What enging does your car have and the year of it?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    suv's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    1.6 8v S1999

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Sorry I can't see any link between the 2
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    suv's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    av just had a head gasket and gear box cud it be the 2 sensors

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    There's always that chance, temp guage at least goes through the ecu by the looks of it

    I wonder if diagonstic equipment would fine the problem?

    Is it a mates garage it went into seeing as your trying to find the problems yourself?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Temperature on GSI Not working - please help
    By chrizza2.0sri in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25-03-2012, 05:19
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-05-2010, 21:33

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •