Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Alarms?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    joemailey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,551
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Alarms?

    Just wondering, If I were to buy an alarm for my car, Will it knock money of my insurance once I renew it?

    If so what alarm should i buy and where/how should I get it fitted?
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveDempsey View Post
    Hey atleast MOTing your car should be a lot simpler than MOTing your EX. Replacing a worn out bush on a car is far easier.



  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Blistz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You would have to get a Cat1 alarm, and have it professionaly fitted for it to take money of your insurance.
    Yet another p0100 and p0110, fault code sufferer with the X18XE1

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Enigma ???'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,468
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by joemailey View Post
    Just wondering, If I were to buy an alarm for my car, Will it knock money of my insurance once I renew it?

    If so what alarm should i buy and where/how should I get it fitted?
    What car have you got? What age is it? It's not allways the case that the insurance will go down.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    joemailey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,551
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Astra sports hatch MK5 2/3months old.
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveDempsey View Post
    Hey atleast MOTing your car should be a lot simpler than MOTing your EX. Replacing a worn out bush on a car is far easier.



  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Enigma ???'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,468
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by joemailey View Post
    Astra sports hatch MK5 2/3months old.
    Well dam i would have thought the sport would have come with a cat1, but it doesn't you do have a cat2 on their though so all you need to do is get a two to one upgrade, go for Meta bloody reliable in eight years I've only seen one back, they do one so you can use your existing Key fob and that's whats fitted to the new VX now

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    joemailey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,551
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Were would i go to get a two to one upgrade?
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveDempsey View Post
    Hey atleast MOTing your car should be a lot simpler than MOTing your EX. Replacing a worn out bush on a car is far easier.



  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    tabetha's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    227
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You could get a 2:1 upgade with TOAD, a C5T2, as I fitted to my astra mk3.
    As said get qoute first as insurance does not always go down, it didn't with my cossie with tracker and cat 1, they just refused to insure it without!!
    After I fitted a cat 1 C5T2 on the astra, there was no discount on the insurance either, despite being VSIB approved.
    Still a good idea on any car though, IMO.
    tabetha

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    As of today - paid AOC members can get 10% off Clifford alarms from GAP Security

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    IF your ASH doesn't have a alarm already fitted then there's only 1 alarm i'd recomend and thats a cobra canbus alarm that links onto the factory remotes. This will be a 2-1 cat 1 upgrade and will be recongised by insurance companies

    Other alarms can be fitted but can be a nightmare to do
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    joemailey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,551
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    IF your ASH doesn't have a alarm already fitted then there's only 1 alarm i'd recomend and thats a cobra canbus alarm that links onto the factory remotes. This will be a 2-1 cat 1 upgrade and will be recongised by insurance companies

    Other alarms can be fitted but can be a nightmare to do

    Were can i go to get this done? any idea on pricing?
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveDempsey View Post
    Hey atleast MOTing your car should be a lot simpler than MOTing your EX. Replacing a worn out bush on a car is far easier.



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Alarms
    By munkie in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-12-2007, 10:08
  2. Car Alarms
    By Pablos in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-05-2005, 21:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •