Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: fog lights..

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Koncept's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    fog lights..

    just a quick question..can i fit fog lights to my mk5 astra 1.4 energy? they didnt come with it because its the lower spec astra model..

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Koncept's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    oops wrong section lol..

    can a mod please move this to the Astra H section please

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    moved

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Koncept's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks buddy

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    You can probably fit them easy enough with a aftermarket switch and relay but to get them working as factory could end up being a mission if none of the wiring is in place. If it is in place I wouldn't mind betting it would have to be switched on via tech2
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    jason1's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the wiring will be there, so you need 2 fogs @£50ish each the new bumper inserts £? a new headlight switch £? and maybe a relay £?, and yes it then needs tech2 to make em work. not to pricey if you can get the bits from a breakers.

    jason

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    stampede's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    464
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It's very unlikely that the wiring will be there.

    Even if it is, it's much cheaper and simpler to fit an aftermarket switch and relay.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    ssa17WS's Avatar
    HID + LED Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3,292
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hey, the wiring for the fogs isn't there so you need to wire them up urself.

    but the wiring that is there is the wire from the light switch unit to the dials and the dials to the UCU (canbus system)

    i've got a life model (no fogs) but have wired up the fogs into the car so they are full operational all i need to do now is get them tech 2's so that i can work them with the OE switch.

    HTH

    Steve
    Astra VXD
    rburgring - 10:55

    Scottish Region

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Koncept's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    192
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    whats a tech 2?

    yeh steve i just read your modification thread..looks like a hard job fitting the fogs..

    i just wanted to know if it can be done because im planning on fittin a vxr bumper

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    ssa17WS's Avatar
    HID + LED Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3,292
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Koncept View Post
    whats a tech 2?

    yeh steve i just read your modification thread..looks like a hard job fitting the fogs..

    i just wanted to know if it can be done because im planning on fittin a vxr bumper
    Tech 2 is a computer thingy that VX use to plug into ur diagnostic port in your car to check for any faults and also get into the cars 'brain' hence why you can activate things like fogs coz the tech 2 just tells the car it now has fogs

    as regards to the VXR bumper thats what i have done

    those fogs are the VXR fogs but all the same process for any fogs u wanna fit.

    hopefully this week i should have a wee tutorial for it.

    Steve
    Astra VXD
    rburgring - 10:55

    Scottish Region

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-2014, 12:47

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •