Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Lame handbrake lol!!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    jimjimmy1's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    179
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Lame handbrake lol!!

    hey guys just wanna know why my handbrake is soo shite lol all my mates have much older cars than me and they can handbrake it round corners etc and i need to pull mine right up just to stop it from rolling down the hill lol does this mean i need new rear drums or just the handbrake tightening?? also when i jak the front of the car up there is a creeking noise coming from the rearsumwere and its annoying me lol any ideas ???
    im driving a astra mk4 1.6 16v sport.cheers .

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Doddy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,328
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Why oh why would you wanna handbrake round corners???? its not big its not clever!!!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    If you have to pull it right up the cable most likely just needs tightening. Very easy job to do, just need a 10mm deep socket.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Sounds like the handbrake cable needs tightening up a bit if you're having to pull it up that far.

    As for the noise when jacking it up... that's pretty much normal - it's the rear brakes.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    oztek coupe's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    674
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    If you want to handbrake your car around corners then dont bother tightening you handbrake, it will only end in tears.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    jimjimmy1's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    179
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    lol no no i dnt want to be a helmit and do that lol i have a nice car and dnt want to follow in the footsteps of my mates who have all crashed theirs lol i was just wondering why theres were soo ****in tight lol ok ill give it a tight'n , silly question probs but do u know how and were the bolt or bolts are located lol cheers

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    On the handbrake handle, may need to remove all the console to get to it though.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    woz9's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Remove the handbrake gaiter, look underneath the handle, there is a 10mm nut on a long thread, you'll need a deep socketto reach it, chock the front wheels, release handbrake and tighten. If its still weak, you may need to have a look at the rear brakes.

    And for the record, Vauxhall Astra's generally don't 'handbrake' round corners, they just understeer into hedges lol

Similar Threads

  1. Lame Blonde Joke!
    By ForZiE in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-11-2005, 12:20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •