Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Superchip or remap?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    johnsastra16v's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,162
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

    Superchip or remap?

    Simply as that, which one do i go for?

    Im not big on engine tuning like some of you on here, but like all of you, i want more power from my z22se.

    Only mods so far to the engine are,

    pipercross filter
    de-restricted box
    and veccy c pipe.

    Ive seen all these inlet mods (2.4 manifold, and port the tb) but i doubt il do anything like that to the engine. so this is as far as it goes. but....

    I do want one of the above.

    But which do i go for?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ther 'superchip' of a MK4 is a remap. The days of swapping chips over in the ECU are long gone for modern cars.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    johnsastra16v's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,162
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    So its basically the same thing.

    which ever i go for, im going to get very similar results?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Pretty much so, yeah. However there will be some difference in the actualy maps with some suppliers doing a 'drivable' map, and some going for just the biggest number the can get on a graph.

    Seeing as you mentioned the 2.4 mani, I take it you've got a 2.2? In that case I'd suggest you talk to Thorney Motorsport in Milton Keynes - they're not that far from you (a plus point) and have been messing about with the Z22Se far longer than other tuners

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    johnsastra16v's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,162
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Yes i have the coupe 2.2.

    what will thorney do, just a remap to suit my specific car, or a chip map for any 2.2 astra?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    They'll do what ever you want/can afford

    Give them a call for a chat. In the mean time
    , have a look at http://www.thorneymotorsport.co.uk/

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    johnsastra16v's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,162
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    this seems like a good start. and im assuming it can be done to the astra and not just the vx220?

    Thorney Motorsport VX220 NAPower Pack 1 - £250 fitted
    Engine ECU re-map +12 to 18bhp and 20llb torque

    We attach a Tech2 diagnostic computer to you cars OBD port and drive it on an extensive test route. During this time, we log the cars ECU output and check for any irregularities or error codes from the ECU. Once we are happy that the car is performing as it should, we re-map the cars ECU with enhanced engine management code via the on board diagnostic port.

    Our enhanced engine management code is the result of hundreds of hours of testing on road and track to gain the optimum performance for the car whilst still well within the realms of safety and longevity for the engine.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    mikecsxi's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    467
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    surley you'd get better gains from new cams rather than a remap with your car not being a turbo
    No u

    my baby - sold

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    johnsastra16v's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,162
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    i probably would get better gians yes. with cams, exhaust, porting of the inlet and throttle body etc.

    but i dont want to be messing with the engine components. which is why im just looking at a superchip/remap.

Similar Threads

  1. Superchip vs ECU Remap
    By sak in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21-08-2008, 20:08
  2. getting this superchip remap
    By thomo in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 19:19
  3. can u superchip and remap??
    By HUDDY in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-02-2006, 13:15
  4. Superchip or Remap
    By M1C VX in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-08-2004, 13:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •