Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: How to mount a gps in the central console (sat nav one)

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    elspa's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    How to mount a gps in the central console (sat nav one)

    Hi,

    I'm trying to find a gps with touchscreen( igo, tomtom, etc) that will fit in the 5" console.
    There are 4.3" gps and 3.5" gps on the market...they are too small.
    Do you know another kind ?
    How will the gps start ? Can you connect it to start automaticaly when the car starts ant shut down when you remove the key ?

    I know i found a thread with someone mounting a tomtom in the console but i can't find it anymore....

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I believe when someone mounted a tomtom into a sat nav console before he drilled a tiny hole in it with a pin going through and pressing the on/off button
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    StevesAstra's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,225
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Becker do sat-navs with huge screens. Try googling becker sat nav

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by StevesAstra View Post
    Becker do sat-navs with huge screens. Try googling becker sat nav
    Not 5" they do not, but panasonic does with the new strada which is exactly 5". I think one of the new Sony ones is close to 5" as well.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    why not just modify the hole? I'm sure the TomTom One XL looked like it would fit in my satnav console. haven't got one and couldn't compare side by side but last itme I looked it looked about right, may be worth a measure...
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    shiftydave's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    810
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have a Tomtom 700 mounted in mine mate. It is smaller than the 5" hole but with a small amount of work, filler, sanding and a respray it looks great now! In terms of powering tomtom made a permanent docking kit consisting of a wiring loom that goes in between the stereo wiring loom. Means it runs through the speaker, gets power from the battery and turns on/off with the ignition. PM me mate if you want any more info on how I did it and pics etc.
    Europa Blue cabriolet turbo...now with VXR turbo, collins dump valve and a large number of Courtenay hoses

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    elspa's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i saw your walktrough, good job...unfortunatly here in romania tomtom is useless...

    mio or igo or route66 is the answer...but they all have 3.5" screen..or 4.3" inch but wide (will not fit for sure).

    the main problem is getting them to start with the car and shut down with the car as they all have one-touch-button not switches for power...

    i guess with a number of releys it's possible, but it's not worth the trouble as the scheme is truly complicated

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    Quote Originally Posted by elspa View Post
    the main problem is getting them to start with the car and shut down with the car as they all have one-touch-button not switches for power...

    i guess with a number of releys it's possible, but it's not worth the trouble as the scheme is truly complicated
    much easier than that. just run the power cable from an ignition-fed 12v source. like the back of the cigarette lighter...

    wiring up is the easy bit, and as for getting one to fit the existing aperture in the satnav console, just make up a blanking plate that covers the entire hole, then measure mark & cut out whatever size hole you need for your satnav screen

    then just stick the plate in, fill it in flush with body filler, spray it and you're done!
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    elspa's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    when you cut down the power to the gps it shuts down.
    when you power the gps it enter a stand bye mode...you must press the power button to get it starded...much like mobile phones...
    so pluggin it to a ignition wire will not rezolve the problem...you have to made a mecanism (mechanical or electronical) that will "push" the button or send the signal to the microprocesor of the gps for you when you on put the ignition...

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    ah I see... simple then. leave a little hole and fit a push button with a pin of some sort on the back to activate the power button on the sat nav...
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Central console
    By Mattie216 in forum Interior
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-06-2010, 11:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •