Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Anyone have mobile broadband...

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Hullablue's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    271
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Anyone have mobile broadband...

    Hey,
    Does anyone here have mobile broadband? (vodafone.. 3 network)

    I live in a rural part of n.ireland. I can not get broadband via the telephone line as i live too far from a exchange....

    I have satellite broadband, but it is expensive, and slow (i get 256.... if even) and it cost £30 pm....

    I want to play my xbox online, but i cant do this without broadband, and i thought maybe.... mobile broadband mite be the answer.....
    (My satellite broadband, is too slow, and BT, told me that in the contract, it states, that it can not be used for playing online games...)


    Thanks


  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Duff's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,417
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hullablue, for the mobile broadband to work you need to be able to recieve a 3g mobile signal, which I think is quite rare down in the sticks of Omagh. I have enough trouble getting 3g in Moira.

    But am interested in this idea as it would mean I could surf in work on my laptop without the restrictions work put in

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Adam0r's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    398
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Be careful. I had a 3G card for my work laptop purely for MSN, IRC and light web browsing.. and thats all I used it for.. supposedly 'unlimited' with only light use and still ended up mullering their TOS. Be very very careful.. thank god my work paid the couple 'o hundred quid bill and not me! lol

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    gazTD's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    14,381
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Duff View Post
    Hullablue, for the mobile broadband to work you need to be able to recieve a 3g mobile signal, which I think is quite rare down in the sticks of Omagh. I have enough trouble getting 3g in Moira.

    But am interested in this idea as it would mean I could surf in work on my laptop without the restrictions work put in
    Not with the vodafone one you don't, i'm currently running it off of 2G signals. When I was in lisburn I could pick up a 3G signal and it ran fast, if you can only get a 2G signal then it's not worth getting it. Plus, i've not figured out how to get online gaming on it with the ps3
    Gaz

    No longer owns an Astra


    Bye bye VXR Castle Combe Edition - because it's done more laps of Castle Combe than most Bergs have of the Ring

Similar Threads

  1. 3 mobile broadband??
    By jimbo1 in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 22-03-2009, 21:48
  2. Mobile broadband
    By kev007 in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-10-2008, 15:06

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •