Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Help! No switched feed for new head unit.

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Blackers's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Help! No switched feed for new head unit.

    I have bought a Sony head unit for my Astra and attempted the fitting of the unit today. This is the second one I've done so I felt confident in this being a simple task.

    However, after connecting all the cables the unit wouldn't switch on. Checked all the cables to discover that whilst there was a permanent 12V to the unit the ignition switched supply remained dead at all ignition positions.

    I have checked all of the fuses and they are all fine. I check the head unit in another Astra of similar age and it worked fine. So I figure that the switched feed is causing the problem.

    Does anyone have any suggestions?

    Also somehow I created a further problem at some point, the central locking now doesn't work. Either by key, by fob or by the button on the dash. I have re-checked the central locking fuse and it is ok.

    Any help would be much appreciated.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    munkie's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,922
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hi mate and welcome to AOC

    which astra do you have? if it is the mk5 where did you get the extra ISO cables from

    cheers

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Blackers's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yes Mk5 Astra 2005.

    Got the Autoleads cables from www.incarexpress.co.uk.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Sounds like the problem Ive got on my mk4

    The ingition feed to the HU is on the same circuit or is at least related somehow to the central locking module that sits in the passenger kickpanel (or at least it does on the mk4)

    Thats about as much info as i can say at this point but give it time and Autosparks should be along to advise further

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    munkie's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,922
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    is it possible on your sony ISO that you can swap the red and yellow cables round using the connectors on the iso.

    to make the red cable yellow and red and the yellow cable red and yellow as i know that you have to do this with most vauxhalls

    tbh i cant remember if i did it in my mk5

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Blackers's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I noticed that in the Sony installation instructions and tried it.

    The unit would not respond at all. Previously it would not switch on but it would take in a CD and eject it again.

    Unless you are saying I should wire both the feed wires (12V & switched 12V) to both of the 12V inputs on the head unit. In theory that would give me a working unit that wouldn't switch on/off with the ignition????

    The fact that it worked without any probs in another astra mk5 without any wiring alterations suggests there is a problem with the car.

    The other option is I wire an new switched 12V feed, but from where?

    And of course that doesn't help with the central locking either

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    NathSRi's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Where are you getting the switched feed from? When i fitted a HU in mine i had to tap into the loom that feeds the hazard warning light switch, there should also be a spare ignition feed taped to the cigarette lighter if you do not want to tap into the warning light switch. Hope this helps.
    ASTRA SRi 150 SPORTHATCH - Magnex CatBack, Simota, Prolines, Grooved and Drilled Discs

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Blackers's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The red cable is already wired into the plug on the car side. Are you saying that isn't a switched 12V?

    Isn't the feed to the hazzards permanent?? As they work without the ignition being on?

    I will check out the cig lighter for the switched feed I think. Thanks.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Has the CL always not worked or is it just stopped recently?

    As mentioned in my earlier post - on the mk4 the ignition fed 12v is related somewhat to the central locking module in the passenger kick panel - this is where im gonna have to start lookin for faults in mine as advised by our resident expert Autosparks on here... sounds like yours is the same issue.

    Im sure he'll be along sometime soon to advise further tho....sorry i cant help

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Blackers's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The central locking worked fine until I hooked up the head unit yesterday.

    I noticed whilst pulling out the old head unit that one of the cables got stripped a little on the sharp edge of the head unit case(?). I taped it up before checking all the fuses.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Switched Ignition Feed
    By Ascen in forum Electrical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-03-2013, 16:18
  2. Problem with head unit - no live feed???
    By coopertrooper2001 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-10-2008, 13:07

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •