Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Limiter?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    p--john--p's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Limiter?

    ok i have 57 plate 1.7cdti, when at the show room i asked for the 100 bhp model, ( im pretty new to vaux, having had fords in the past) iirc the 100bhp model had a cdti badge? which is not what i have, it feels about 100bhp, but cos it has higher torque and im used to petrols im ot to sure, anyway
    decided to take it on a run today ( on uncles private land with a friend ) and i noticed when i get to about 115 ish @ 4100 ish rpm , it goes no furthur, wouldnt like to think its limited, but if it is how do i get shot of it, i know that itll only gain an extra 5mph or there abouts but i plan on getting more power from it , so what do i need and do to get most power from this engine, whitout putting it in serious danger or going mega expensive,

    astra club 5 dr 1.7cdti ( 100bhp??)
    thanks guys, if u ever need help with a ford, ill be there lol

    John

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Is there a sticker on the timing belt cover - should have a barcode and the engine number on it.

    If its Z17DTL then its the 80bhp version if its Z17DTH then it's the 100bhp version

    80 gets standard chrome CDTI....100 gets the CDTI

    Would need to ascertain which engine u have before looking at it further.

    If no sticker is present then a quick phone call to Vx HQ in Luton or even ur dealers should tell u which one it is.


  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Snooze's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Well mine's the 100bhp 2.0 DTi engine and it runs out of steam about 115mph too, on the flat. Obviously that was done just to test its limits, but I don't understand why "only" being able to 115mph is a problem? Do you not think that's fast enough?!?!

    Rob

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If its is the 80 model and he specifically ordered/requested the 100 one then Im sure he's gonna be more than a little miffed.

    Its more a case of the principle rather than the actual speed

    Hopefully time will tell

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    munkie's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,922
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you could also do a quick online insurance qoute on confused.com, it will have what it is in brackets once you put your reg in.

    how old is the car as well because iirc Vauxhall dont do the 80 model anymore

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    p--john--p's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by munkie View Post
    you could also do a quick online insurance qoute on confused.com, it will have what it is in brackets once you put your reg in.

    how old is the car as well because iirc Vauxhall dont do the 80 model anymore
    it says its the 100brake model,
    its not that i was "ony doing 115" , its just so iknow what the car can do , so when a day at crail turns up , i know the top speed, and my shift points for the torque band ,

    so any one have i deas on how to improve the overall speed and acceleration of the engine? and get rid of the limiter?

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Snooze's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    509
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Lightbulb



    It doesn't have a limiter! The engine just runs out of steam at around 115mph! If you want to go faster, buy a car with a bigger engine/blower.

    Rob

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    p--john--p's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Snooze View Post


    It doesn't have a limiter! The engine just runs out of steam at around 115mph! If you want to go faster, buy a car with a bigger engine/blower.

    Rob
    surely not, cos it feels like its limited to that speed, i mean the rev counter sits dead on just over 4000 rpm and dont move at all, even going down hill slightly

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    tommy060289's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    45
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thats probably the point at which the engine produces its maximum power. The top speed will always be in the highest gear when the engine is producing its maximum output.

    This is of course providing the ratio of the 5th gear is so that it allows the maximum speed that the engine can produce!

    Tom

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Cjay22's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    From what i read somewhere else VX have ditched the red badge and are just using all chrome CDTI on 1.7 and 1.9

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. limiter
    By gsi lee in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13-11-2006, 19:31
  2. help please with the rev limiter
    By RAZOR in forum Electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-04-2005, 10:49
  3. rev limiter
    By adamSXi in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 17-08-2004, 16:55
  4. Rev limiter
    By Lisa in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-04-2004, 14:30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •