Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: tripometer?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    yrrab's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    tripometer?

    hi,
    When I turn on the ignition the tripometer reads 'insp' for a few seconds then the mileage comes up, does anyone know what this means, thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Do a search for 1 new spark plug
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Your car thinks it needs a service

    Either it does, or the interval timer wasn't reset after the last service

    you can cancel it by...

    1) Switch off the ignition (remove the key)
    2) Press and hold the reset button (in the instrument) and,
    3) switch the ignition on, keeping the reset button pressed for an additional 2 seconds.
    4) The disply flashes "InSP" for 2 seconds.
    5) The text "----" will be shown on the display until the reset button is released after the resetting operation has been performed successfully.
    6) The odo-meter or time disply will then re-appear.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    yrrab's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hi Ffoeg/jace
    The car is a diesel, and I dont mean the display where the time/radio is, its the one where the speedo is above the mileage is the tripometer, unless I can do the resetting like you have said and it clears it, thanks

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Do what Geoff said, it'll sort it out. I was just being facetious, but search anyway, it makes for funny reading!
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    yrrab's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    30
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks for that, just done it and it has cleared it.
    It is due for a service but time of the year etc, will just do a oil change for now, thats the most important part i think

Similar Threads

  1. odometer/tripometer display gone
    By topheR in forum Electrical
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-12-2010, 20:41

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •