Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Melted Fuse on Amp (and I mean melted not Blown) (Pics)

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Blistz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Unhappy Melted Fuse on Amp (and I mean melted not Blown) (Pics)

    How/Why would this happen:











    Also, do you recken I could fix it?, As i cant fit a replacement fuse in the slot at the moment. (I should also add that it was still working in this condition.... just smelling like burnt plastic alot).
    Yet another p0100 and p0110, fault code sufferer with the X18XE1

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    frostbite's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Dover
    Posts
    524
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Why do you have 2 grounds on the amp?
    97' OMEGA GLS 2000 - 98' ASTRA 1.7TD low blow estate rolling coal

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Blistz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by frostbite View Post
    Why do you have 2 grounds on the amp?
    That was me being lazy, and wireing up my other AMP earth feed to this one. Its the same case with the remote wire.
    Yet another p0100 and p0110, fault code sufferer with the X18XE1

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    frostbite's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Dover
    Posts
    524
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Thats probably why it melted
    97' OMEGA GLS 2000 - 98' ASTRA 1.7TD low blow estate rolling coal

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Blistz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I thoughthe point of a fuse was that if to much current goes accross it, then it blows? Mine just seemed to get hotter. The fuse near the battery remained intact,

    I will take the panel of the back of the amp and see if i can repair it, and move the earth wire to a grounding point in the car.

    Whats your reason for thinking that the two earth wire's are what caused it to overheat? (I just wanna get my head around why it happened really)
    Yet another p0100 and p0110, fault code sufferer with the X18XE1

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Its cos you got it turned up to the max, innit

    Isn't the fuse there to protect the power not the earth, therefore the 2nd earth cable shouldn't effect it?

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Blistz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by buckle View Post
    Its cos you got it turned up to the max, innit
    I wondered if anyone would notice there the freq. was set, thing is I havent altered these settings in about 6 months, been running it every day.

    Is it possible the amp is at fault? I dont fancy working out how to attach a new fuse, only to set my boot on fire.
    Yet another p0100 and p0110, fault code sufferer with the X18XE1

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Was it a 20amp fuse in there (yellow one)

    Having the 2 earths going there wouldn't cause that
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Blistz's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,056
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yes, it was 20A
    Yet another p0100 and p0110, fault code sufferer with the X18XE1

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    mik's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Exeter
    Posts
    467
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Add mik on Facebook
    dude squash that fly next to your hand

    lol

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Melted piston help!
    By W88RDY in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 57
    Last Post: 13-11-2010, 23:02
  2. Melted pistons, why?
    By zafgsi in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 08-07-2009, 22:35

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •