Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Another twin head unit thread

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    coupe de ville's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    227
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Another twin head unit thread

    As above.
    managed to sort the wiring for
    both head units but cant work
    out how to put the aerial to both
    head units.
    can any one help in stumped
    ( no i dont want 2 aerials on the roof lol )

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    The only reason you'd need two aerial connections would be to run the radio on both headunits... forgive me for being stupid but why would you want to? you're not going to listen to both at once!

    if you split the aerial signal at all it is going to seriously affect the likelihood of recieving some of the weaker signals, unless you add in a booster of sorts.

    I'd stick with leaving the aerial just going to your primary headunit TBH mate, I assume you are runing the sound from one headunit through the other?
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    sri_chris's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    544
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    why would you need two anyway lol??

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    more and more people are running two headunits these days, its a good way to be able to run a DVD player/screen as well as a decent branded CD headunit for sound processing. Also it often means you can have more auxiliary inputs, the option to have one headunit (eg DVD player) playing to the rear passengers, whilst you listen to a CD in the front, and whatever else. Also means you can have two cd's in there without changing discs

    I just can't fathom why you would need both headunits connectedto the radio antenna?
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    sri_chris's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    544
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i can understand if you got mayb dvd player in one... but jus dnt see the point of two cd players... lol just me but the people in the back have to listen to what eva im listnin to in the front and vice versa.. we aint driving huge cars lol!!!

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    coupe de ville's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    227
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The reason behind this is coz i have a pioneer AVH-P5700 dvd head unit
    in the top din but i still want to run my cdr600 standard head unit in the
    lower din + its also got a 4 disc changer on the vx unit.

    top din - dvd,mp3,wma,dab & ipod conection.

    lower din - tape ( ) & standard cd changer with my
    steering wheel controls + info display.

    i know im only gonna use 1 unit at a time but it just looks
    and feels more professional to me when all functions on both
    units work.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    sri_chris's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    544
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ahhhhhhhh i get ya!
    haha oi im still runing the good old tape player.... cd changer combo... love the retro vide LOLOOOL!! plus i like stickin my phone in the tape bit... its a handy place!! lol

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    personally I wouldn't run an aerial splitter mate. It wil degrade the signal sufficiently that you will find a lot of things make the radio impractical to listen to due to interference/loss of signal etc. Think of how some of the weaker signals such as local radio stations etc can be lost in adverse weather/in built up areas/through external (electrical) interference. Now imagine how it would be if you only had an aerial that was half as effective - it would get to the stage where you wouldn't be able to listen to anything other than Radio 1/Radio 2 the strongest signals. Oh and you can probably kiss goodbye to MW/AM altogether, as the signal strength is lousy as it is

    You would need a decent booster to prevent it, but that would take up even more space behind the dash (and you won't have much room running two h/u's and a changer) plus it could potentially interfere with the signals being sent through the wires that are anywhere near it.
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I can't say i've had any radio problems when having to use a splitter for TMC sat nav. I've used what Coo posted above
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. angel/twin head lights
    By ronnie24 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-06-2009, 23:10
  2. Astra Twin Top Xeon Head Lights
    By astratwintop in forum Electrical
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-11-2007, 18:17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •