Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Emissions Light

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    hott4u's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    506
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Emissions Light

    My Emissions light has come on my dash and wont go off, what does it mean? ive disconnected the battery which resets and clears it but it just comes back on. any idea on what could be the cause. dont really want to take it back to the dealer to get it plugged in to a tech2.

    Car is running fine and pulls very hard still its just pissing me off seeing that flash thing on my dash
    Regal 3.5+ 325map
    2003 Astra Turbo

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    aphex140's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...light=emission

    Had this problem also put into the garage they claimed to have clean the sensor - but this morning the light is back on again
    Computers allow us to make more mistakes at a faster rate than any other man-made thing, with the exception of handguns and tequila

    THREAD KILLER

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    reddevilastra's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi, iam having this problem, when i boot it for a while it seems to drop in boost and make like a blowing noise, but then the night i gave it some serious stick and the emissions light was flashing and the car seemed to go into limp mode...still drivable but felt very lumping and the blowing noise was very loud, has anyone got any ideas, my mate said it might be the head gasket going, it only seems to do after i have booted it for some time.....its making me worried lol.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    daddy cool's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    O2 Sensor???

    Not had any problems with mine light. Being a tech had had exp with warning lights. 9 times out of 10 its the o2 sensor not working 100%. Also it can sometimes depends on what petrol you are using. I would suggest first getting some fuel cleaner to clean out any crap thats built up through the fuel lines, put it in a tank thats quarter full.
    If thats not good then it maybe wise for a check with a scanner or tech2

    Hope thats useful

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    reddevilastra's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks daddycool, will try the petrol cleaner, as for the petrol i use shell 9 times out 10...i will try that and see what happens.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    buy your self a code reader off Ebay
    my money will be on o2 sensor one of the 2 on the car

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    reddevilastra's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok thanks, or i can ask my mates dad he works for the RAC if he can plug it for me.

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    the laptop on the RAC van will be fine just ask him to plug it in

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    hott4u's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    506
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Update!!!

    just an update guys, i fitted a new o2 sensor and plugged in the tech2 and it was working fine, the only thing was the readings from the sensor was a little iradic going up and down while the back one has the same reading(constant).

    after reseting the ecu i drove off and after 20mins it came back on

    plugged it in again and it said the same thing....
    'fuel trim malfunction bank 1'

    not sure what to do next? have got the exhaust checked out for leaks and its all good. could it be the saprkies as i only have iridium BK5's on OR could it be a faulty coil pack?

    im a bit baffled guys so any feedback is appreciated...
    Regal 3.5+ 325map
    2003 Astra Turbo

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Coupe John's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Drives
    Astra 1.8vvt X Pack
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    2,594
    Mentioned in
    17 Post(s)
    Quoted
    61 Post(s)
    If you have changed the front O2 sensor on the turbo down pipe but its still the same, I put my money on the 2nd sensor after the cat, because I had the same problem with the emmisions light coming on and when I had it put on the tech2 the only thing they could find was the 2nd O2 sensor was reading a constant voltage when hot or cold just like yours is I replaced this myself and it has never come on since The only thing is these sensors are bloody expensive hope this helps.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. emissions light??
    By cliffty in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-11-2012, 21:03
  2. Emissions light on 1.6 8v.
    By KrisC in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-09-2006, 00:17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •