Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recommendations for a detailing newbie please...

Status
    AOC Premium Member
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter

Recommendations for a detailing newbie please...

I'm completely new to this detailing lark, so be gentle I struggle to even see the paint under the dirt most days, but when I spend a bit of time on the car I do appreciate the work I've put in, and I reckon I could get into it... so I'm looking into starting a collection and learning how to do it properly...

I know most people on here swear by their PC's or their UDM's... but what other recommendations does anyone have? or would a UDM/PC be best?

I've seen a Makita polisher (model #9227 IIRC) and can get it quite cheap, its also 240v which is a bonus (although not a problem as with being a Builder's family we have several 110 transformers knocking about ) are they any good?

also what products would be best for white paintwork?
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    To be honest mate am just gettin into the whole detailing world myself but what i can grasp is that a pc/udm is better for a newbie as you cant really do much paint damage with a pc/udm(orbital) and they are very easy to use and i think a makita(rotary) is a lot harder to use and you can damage the paint work with it too,
    I have got a udm and ive used it once and its great and cant wait to use it on my car,get over to www.detailingworld.co.uk and register as you will learn alot more on there,
    Astra Sri 2.2

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)