Thread: pre-out questions - how many do I need? what voltage?....

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

pre-out questions - how many do I need? what voltage?....

Hi all,
    I have been told that I need a pre-out if I want to upgrade later with an amp/sub etc further on.

So been looking for a new headunit with pre-outs.

How many do I need?
    I plan on upgrading the component speakers (certainly the front door ones at least) and getting a 12" sub eventually for the boot. I have gotten myself a little confused regarding amp channels and headunit pre-outs.
    Please could someone clarify this up a bit for me (in lamans terms..I am new to all this )

Pre-out voltage...
    What a difference I have come across so it must mean something! Some have 2v all the way up to 5v.
    Is one better than the other?
    Do certain voltaes limit which amps/speakers you can use later on?

I have a budget of £150 max (I have been...told) and for that money - while not a lot to you ICE fanatics I am sure - there are a whole bunch of technical stats flying about, none of which I understand properly!!

Cheers all
    Jaarus

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Pre outs you want at least 2, one for the sub and the other for amping the door speakers

Voltage is up to your budget and manufacturer
    97' OMEGA GLS 2000 - 98' ASTRA 1.7TD low blow estate rolling coal

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    So I take it more volts in a pre-out is better?

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Yep thats it
    97' OMEGA GLS 2000 - 98' ASTRA 1.7TD low blow estate rolling coal

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    great - many thanks.

Would be useful if there was a lamans guide to al this somewhere but not found one yet! Its a lot to learn.

Status
    AOC Obsessed