Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: wireless t'interweb problems

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter

    wireless t'interweb problems

    Sploodge this is your forte I believe!

    anyway, here's the deal.

    one of the dogs got my wireless network card out of the PCMCIA slot on the laptop a couple of months back, and totalled the damn thing. completely ruined, in about 400 pieces

    so I went out and bought another card and got it all up and running. job done or so I thought.

    the router ended up packing itself in not long after, no idea why so I thought what the hey I'll get another one the same off ebay

    well it arrived today (admittedly without discs or ac adaptor) but using the wonders of downloading the driver off the net and using the ac adaptor from the old router, I got it up and running. I have also got the PCMCIA card to recognise it, and have them linkedin a wireless network.

    the problem I am having, is that I now don't know how to connect to my broadband through the router.

    I know its not the most substantial info I've posted above, but last time it went straightin and fired itself up, this time it hasn't

    so any help please? getting fed up sitting at the kitchen table the chair's uncomfy!
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    What make/model is the router..
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    oops sorry forgot to say

    router is a Netgear DG834GT.

    card is a Netgear WG511 v2 if that helps
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    1: Plug in router to mains.

    2: Plug in router to phone line ( make sure you use the filter )

    3: connect laptop to it and browse with internet explorer to 192.168.0.1 - Username: admin - Password: password

    4: Click the setup wizard link and follow the info ( select UK, click next, put in adsl username and password click test...
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    ok will do. back in a mo cheers Andy
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter


    didn't work

    connected fine to the wireless network, then opened IE and put in the IP address 192.168.0.1, it came up with a login popup so I put in admin/password as you said... it kept coming back up with the login popup box two or three times, then when it accepted what I had put, the screen came up with "System Authentication Failed" and told me to contact my system admin

    any thoughts?

    i've no problems connecting through the standard modem as you can see from me being here now
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Andy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    5,313
    Mentioned in
    5 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    user name may just be admin and no password?
    Drives - 08 Astra SRi XP 1.9CDTi 150

    Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Its not a sky broadband router is it? If not is it new and not from a broadband company? Some BB providers customise them..

    If all else fails, reset the router by pressing in the reset button on the back ot it ( press for 10 seconds'ish till the test light flashes ). Release the reset button and give the bost a minute to restart.. Then do the bove again.
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    it is a sky bb router, is that going to be a problem as I don't have sky BB...

    what can I do if this is a problem? get rid and get another I guess?
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    try username: admin passowrd: sky
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Connecting new laptop to wireless problems
    By lee gsi in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-04-2012, 21:40

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •