Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: center console double din mod

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    paxtond's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    307
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    center console double din mod

    just a quick question before i tackle this in the morning,

    i was to remove my vents and fit a screen like many have done.

    but i wont be using a normal touch screen. i want to fit a double din dvd player and was wondering if there is enough clearance behind the cd socket and vents to do this.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    an_alien's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    381
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    there is. you have to cut a bar that sperates the vents and the cd play (this is only thin plastic and easily done)


  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    paxtond's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    307
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by an_alien View Post
    there is. you have to cut a bar that sperates the vents and the cd play (this is only thin plastic and easily done)

    yeh i know you can fit a screen, but i wante dto know if there was enough clearance behind this to alow a double din unit to be used

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    No there is not enough space where the airvents go.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BasilD View Post
    No there is not enough space where the airvents go.
    Really?

    Can you not just cut more of the card stuff back more.
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    paxtond's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    307
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BasilD View Post
    No there is not enough space where the airvents go.
    so there is no way of running double din on a mk4?

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Yes there is but you have to move the heater controls to the bottom din slot
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    paxtond's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    307
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    Yes there is but you have to move the heater controls to the bottom din slot

    anybody got any pics of this

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I thought double din headunits were not as deep as a standard headunit?
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by paxtond View Post
    anybody got any pics of this
    Taken from BasilD photo's

    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Double Din Center Console
    By SparkySXI in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 22-03-2010, 00:34
  2. double din center console
    By ttam69r in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-03-2010, 18:57

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •