Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: HID kit from G to H

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Bodman's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    88
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    HID kit from G to H

    I currently have a H7 Kit on my Astra G. Was wondering if they'd fit into the Astra H that i'm getting soon, also is it pretty easy or a pain?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    f4af100uk's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,615
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    iirc tomh had/has some problems with them on his mk5 T8. im not sure exactly what the problem was but i remeber him saying that when he first turned them on one wasnt lighting up untill they had been running for about 5-10 mins. he'll know more about this if you wanna drop him a pm

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    jcastraDTi's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2,376
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I think aftermarket HID kits can play havoc with the CANBUS system on the MK5's (heard this from a vaux salesmen). You need some sort of extra wiring loom to solve the problem i believe...
    No longer a Astra Owner
    Now Drives -2006 Skoda Octavia vRs in Race Blue

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I think its due to them drawing less current than normal bulbs.

    You could probably fit a load resistor too to make up for the lack of current but I don't think anyone has tried it yet.
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    craig_astraH's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    159
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    see this CANBUS system - is that the auto sysem that tells you if the bulb is dead etc etc? I got an early mk5 without this so i wpould think if i was to fit some i wouldnt have any issues?



    cheeers jarvis
    Mk5 Astra Sxi, 18'' Kei racing force 10's, Eibach Pro street S Coilovers, Full JDL tuning bodykit, Irmscher spoiler and Lazer cut Grille, de-badged

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The canbus system goes alot further than the bulb test feature

    It's the latest (well probably about 15 years old in some cars) way of transmitting data around the car rather than using lots of different wires
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    TomH's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    2,753
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The Kit im running has a slightly different ballast to that of say one for the mk4. Its alot thinner and has all the gubbins in so no need for extra resistors or relays. Only issue with this set is that i need the engine off to start the HIDs, once there on theyare fine and work a treat. Scott is sending me a wire to try and get passed this so we are not far off a plug & play set.

    There are CANBUS ready kits out there but there still £150 +

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •