Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Fuse problem help please!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    scott_sxi's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    868
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Fuse problem help please!

    hi, iv got a mk4 astra sxi and my number 7 fuse 10amp keeps blowing this powers my driver sidights and numberplate light so is serious for drivin at night, i just replaced the fuse they came on went to drive an fuse has gone again any idea people thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Theres going to be a short in the wiring somewhere or a simple blown bulb

    Have you had any work done to it recently?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    scott_sxi's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    868
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    iv had my remote start rewired to a manual transmission cos people before did it for a manual iv just rang alarm place and they sed its nowt to do with them, cant be a blown bulbn they all workin b4 fuse goes after bout 10 secs lol

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    It could still be either of the problems still, if our company had done some work to a car and it was giving issues after would would at least take it apart again and check everything out. Did it happen straight away afterwards?

    To start with though take all the bulbs out on the side thats giving problems and switch your lights on to see if the fuse still blows, it may be that one bulbs about to blow and drawing to much current
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    scott_sxi's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    868
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok, its a pain lol

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    AJB2K3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,504
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Computer tip
    Pull out everthing you can disconnect (bulbs, conector cluster then try again)
    If fine then harness is not to blame.
    Add one item then test and keep trying untill you add something that causes the trip.
    Unfortunatly you are looking for that needle in a haystack
    I'm like a bad penny, old, dirty, and appears when not wanted.
    Guess who's writing a victorian fantasy book. #JamesPurcell #The Diaries of James Purcell

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    scott_sxi's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    868
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i put a 15amp fuse in and its not blowing is that ok?

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by scott_sxi View Post
    i put a 15amp fuse in and its not blowing is that ok?
    NO

    It's a 10 amp fuse for a reason

    Does suggest that its a bulb problem though
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    scott_sxi's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    868
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    right so theres a bulb problem then, am i ok for the 15amp in tonight i need to drive the car with lights

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    It's not something i'd recomend

    Everything from the wiring, through the fuse and the switch is designed to take 10 amps max and this is only when its switched on as it takes a initial surge to light the bulbs. Once they are on they don't draw nowhere near that amount
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Similar Threads

  1. Fuse Problem ??
    By astrasurf in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31-07-2011, 19:34
  2. Fuse problem, please help.
    By Rab19 in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2003, 17:54

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •