Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Turbo timer

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    stevenet15's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    723
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Turbo timer

    I just bought a turbo timer for my coupe turbo, it has the following wires to wire up

    RED - Constant 12v
    YELLOW - IG1 12V (ignition 1)
    BLUE - IG2 12V (ignition 2)
    BLACK - Earth
    BROWN - Hand brake switch

    thats fine and its all wired up and works but i have a problem, with it all wired up i cannot lock my car off the key fob, if i disconnect ignition 2 wire then i can lock it off my key fob but none of the accessories work once the key is removed e.g heaters etc... and i like to leave the heaters on full speed hot when sat still as it heps bring the engine temp down

    anyone have any ideas?
    Astra Coupe Turbo

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    stevenet15's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    723
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    anyone know???
    Astra Coupe Turbo

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    you will have to lock the car on the key why its running on the turbo timer

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    stevenet15's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    723
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dannysport18 View Post
    you will have to lock the car on the key why its running on the turbo timer

    thats crap as i dont have locks lol thanks for the reply tho
    Astra Coupe Turbo

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    simple. take blue wire and cut the fecker off. you dont need it m8. then make sure you are connected to the correct ign wire. had same prob wi mine.
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    mfivebmw's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    760
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    mfivebmw

    your new turbo timer needs to be wired up like that because it needs to be running when you have stopped, but with these feeds still going to the timer the central locking thinks the ignition is still on, which in fact it is, so wont lock off your remote, YOU COULD
    put a timer relay inline with the wire that goes from the turbo timer to ignition live position II say a ten seconds Delay) so that when you switch off you have 10 seconds to lock the car off the remote before the turbo timer kicks back in.
    that is what i would do if it was mine or, YOU COULD
    fit a totally stand alone central locking kit taking live feeds from the battery.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    stevenet15's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    723
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Glasgow_Stu View Post
    simple. take blue wire and cut the fecker off. you dont need it m8. then make sure you are connected to the correct ign wire. had same prob wi mine.

    yeah but then my heaters wont work becaust the ignition2 wont be getting a feed
    Astra Coupe Turbo

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Gnasher's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,897
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I had a BLITZ timer on my old SRi Turbo and it worked fine, although I never knew if the heater/fan/etc. ran on with the engine though
    2006 Astra VXR on 19's in Arden Blue
    ExhaustsUK Catback, Eibach Sportlines, DS Ultima, Roose hose kit, Forge recirculating dump valve, Full self modded SMD conversion

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    vinny's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    29
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Turbo timer

    My you can lock with the key fob with engine running & heater running. I don't know how its wired up, it was done by regal.But my aftermarket alarm I had wait for the engine to stop to set/lock it.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    do your wires look like this?


    as i said before.

    if you have a coupe turbo then all you need to do is remove the blue wire and connect the rest behind the stearing wheel
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. plz help!!!!f*****g turbo timer
    By lee294 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 20-12-2009, 19:09
  2. turbo timer...
    By l11wne in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-12-2007, 18:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •