Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Air con fan - Slim line fan

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    NEVE'O's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,319
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    Question Air con fan - Slim line fan

    Im in the process of fittings the group buy intercooler to my coupe T, to get the extra space needed i want to replace the A/C fan with a slim fan, problem is the A/c fan has 3 wires and the slim fan has 2.

    How do I wire it up with the original wiring and will it cause any problems or fault codes etc?

    Im in abit of a hurry for an answer as there isnt much more I can do till I know I can use the slim fan so any help would be great!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Scottyboy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,750
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You can use a slim fan as the Pace intercooler comes with a replacement slim fan just as you describe.

    I can't remember there being 3 wires though when I fitted mine -

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    NEVE'O's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,319
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Theres 3 wire up from the multiplug, it goes in to some sort of coil/resistor type thing (part of the fan housing), then 2 wires from this to the fan motor. this is the multiplug on the a/c fan:


  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Scottyboy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,750
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You need to retain the condensor module - aren't there only two wires coming from it to the OE fan? Sorry just read your post again - there are two wires coming from it - these are the two that go to the slimline fan.

    On the Pace intercooler kit you get a bracket to relocate the module as this controls the fan switching and speed.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    NEVE'O's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,319
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Nice one! I was thinking along the same lines, thanks for your help mate!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Enkidu's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,716
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    So its that tight trying to fit your IC then mate??

    I've seen pictures where the fan was not moved/touched at all..... :-/
    Arden Astra GSI - Phase 3.5

    EDS Phase 3.5 288 BHP 340 FT/LB

    Inlet cam and Dbilas manifold.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    NEVE'O's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,319
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Well, it might of just fit after I had moved the rads back, but Iv had to trim the coupe bumper a fair bit and I wasnt happy with the clearence of everything, its about 2mm in most cases, then I found the slim line fan kicking about so trial fitted it and it gives loads more space.

    I also modded the bumper bar more so the I/C sits further up into it giving more room at the bottom on the bumper. Im much happy with gaps now.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Scottyboy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,750
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You will need to consider the location of the condensor module carefully as it is believed to be this that trips the air-con light on the Pace kit. The location (at the top of the rads near the oe MAP sensor position) doesn't allow the fan to cut in early enough, and it cannot record the difference in temperature drop that a fan creates, so it thinks that the fan is not working and trips the error light.

    You need to think about the oe position, and then try a re-locate the module where the same readings and conditions apply.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Another thought on the fan light coming on is due the slim fans not drawing as much current and it thinking its not working properly too.
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    NEVE'O's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,319
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    the only place i can fit it with enough room is more or less the same area when you turn the standard fan 90 degrees. I hope it works ok, its been a time consuming couple of days!

Similar Threads

  1. Best slim line fan?
    By Jack.mk4gsi in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-12-2011, 20:03
  2. Slim line fan help req.
    By Gary_Lawton in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-02-2009, 17:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •