Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Gaz coilover problems

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Kabouter's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Gaz coilover problems

    Hope someone can shed some light.
    I bought a set of Gaz coilovers. The standard topmount and bits does not fit on the coilover. The coilover strut has an anodised top spring retainer.
    My original rubber topmount and the one with the bearing does not fit on that topmount.
    Am I missing something or is it incomplete kit?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Kabouter's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    [IMG][/IMG]

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Kabouter's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    any ideas? its a mk4 astra.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    roswell's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    433
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I think theres a bearing in your original top mount you need to take out and put in the GAZ top mount have a look.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    oztek astra's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    346
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cant help with your question but i have a quick question of my own mate, where did you get the gaz coilovers from? how much do they lower? and how much were they?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Kabouter's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    @ Roswell, It does not fit into the GAZ topmount. I think to put it on top with the narrow nut to get the space made up for the rubber one to fit.

    @Oztek, Bought them from GAZ just the front two for just under 500.
    Do not know what the total is the would lower to.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Kabouter's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the GAZ strut also does not have a fixing hole for the droplink like the old one?
    [IMG][/IMG]

    [IMG][/IMG]

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    ZS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    9,491
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I think you've been sold the wrong struts.
    2007 Metro Blue 5 door Mk5 Elite 1.7CDTI
    6th Vauxhall (4th Astra) in 10 years...plus a couple of other sheds...

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    As above !!

    a photo of Mike Warner's GAZ strut....


  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Kabouter's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks for clearing that up. S'pose I just did not want to accept the fact that they could be wrong as I have waited 5 to 6 weeks for them.

Similar Threads

  1. JOM Coilover ride height problems
    By Creditz in forum Chassis
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 31-01-2014, 20:01
  2. Coilover Help
    By Ramsay in forum Chassis
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-08-2010, 01:01

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •