Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: HKS Type 1 turbo timer?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    2fast's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    HKS Type 1 turbo timer?

    I´m thinking of buying HKS turbo timer, Type 1.

    http://www.hksusa.com/products/more.asp?id=845

    It also has a function to display vehicles RPM and be used as a shift light...
    But, I read on this forum that because of the coil pack that ZLET has, the "automatic" mode on the turbo timer will not work, as it can not "read" the RPM. Does this mean that the HKS turbo timer will not be able to display RPM-s, and work as a shift light?
    Astra Coupé Turbo Z20LET GT28RS

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Nope I dont think it will.

    You could allways email the company and ask
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    2fast's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    So there is no way to "pick up" the RPM signal on the Z20LET?
    Astra Coupé Turbo Z20LET GT28RS

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Gnasher's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,897
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If it works in the same way as the Blitz dual FATT turbo timer, which apparently uses the revs to work out the time automatically, then it won't work automatically. Not sure if the rev counter will even work to be honest.
    2006 Astra VXR on 19's in Arden Blue
    ExhaustsUK Catback, Eibach Sportlines, DS Ultima, Roose hose kit, Forge recirculating dump valve, Full self modded SMD conversion

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    theblueraven's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    261
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i have a type o fitted to mine, though it doesnt display the rpm, it is wired in properly and does calculate the cooldown time according to rpm properly. Dont ask me how though, i had a professional wire the damn thing in, i am not too good with wiring :P
    324hp @20psi
    13.9@103mph 1/4 mile must practice more!
    www.opelaus.com <- australian opel site

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    2fast's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    So, with a good prefissional, it can be done?

    He just has to find the right wire for the RPM signal..?
    Astra Coupé Turbo Z20LET GT28RS

Similar Threads

  1. HKS type 0 turbo timer
    By Dynamic Jay in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2013, 16:43
  2. turbo timer
    By nkserc in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-11-2007, 00:18

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •