Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ariel problem?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    eug4611's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    ariel problem?

    hi guys
    i am having trouble getting a radio signal, and have been told that the base of my ariel could be the most likely problem and it costs about £40 for a new one.
    is this a common problem and does anyone else have any other ideas as to what it could be?
    i hope someone can shed some light on this for me as i am sick of listening to cd`s all the time.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    tinhwp's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    833
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    So what, you've got an aerial screwed in, but still cant get any reception?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    eug4611's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    ariel

    yes the ariel is screwed in and i have gave it a good clean aswell but still cant get any reception.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    tinhwp's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    833
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    No reception at all? Have you checked that the aerial cable is plugged in the base properly, it has not come loose? Another place worth checking is the back of the radio to see if it has come loose there, although unlikely if you still have the standard radio in it!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    eug4611's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    yes everything is tight at the ariel and at the headunit

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    tinhwp's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    833
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Oh, then either could be cable (unlikely) or as you say the roof unit. Try a scrappy first, as they tend to have useful stuff like that for very much cheaper! There is a how to, explaining changing the aerial mount. That will have the product number in it!

    Also try eBay, you never know, stuffl like this pops up all the time!

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    BRANCHER's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi i had very poor radio signal, so i got a 12v ariel booster which wires in to the perment live and plugs straight in the back of the radio. i get a lovely signal know

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Enigma ???'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,468
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by eug4611 View Post
    hi guys
    i am having trouble getting a radio signal, and have been told that the base of my ariel could be the most likely problem and it costs about £40 for a new one.
    is this a common problem and does anyone else have any other ideas as to what it could be?
    i hope someone can shed some light on this for me as i am sick of listening to cd`s all the time.
    Is the remote wire for the bee sting working and is it connected if it is then the amp in the base of the ariel has gone and you will need a new one does this help

Similar Threads

  1. Ariel problem
    By jb20001uk in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-07-2010, 10:29
  2. Alpine Ariel Problem?!
    By ForZiE in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 20-01-2006, 20:19

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •