Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: help needed with new richbrook handle

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    B19GSW's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    help needed with new richbrook handle

    is there an easy way of removing the original handbrake lever? or do ya jus keep choppin it up?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    jam's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tamworth, Staffordshire
    Posts
    11,695
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Follow jam On Twitter
    Chop it up. Then use a spanner and a hammer, would be my only advise.

    jam
    Its a jam thing

    Haec credam a deo pio, a deo justo, a deo scito?



  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    I just used a spanner up against the back end of the handle, whack it a few times with a hammer and it slides off. a single slice from back to front (cutting away from your fingers) will give the plastic a little more flex when you hit it if you are struggling.

    easy enough 5 inute job max.

    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    locky's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    33
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I've found it to be a bitch to get off and put back on also, I ended up tapping it with a block of wood and hammer to get it loose.....and I've just gone and bought a "new" Astra G, so I'm gonna have to do it all again !

    Does anyone have any tips on how to make it fit well, before once I had it on, it wobbled a bit. The piece of foam that comes with the Richbrook one is, well, crap!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    I used tape to pack it out a bit, then put the foam over the top. In a similar way I did the button as well so that its sort of 'stiffer' to press in like you'd find on a new car.
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-06-2010, 02:40
  2. where to get Richbrook handbrake handle
    By dannysport18 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-05-2004, 00:40

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •