Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Amp install?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    'R' Coupe''s Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Amp install?

    Right I know this is probably a simple question, but I'm trying to wire in my new amp and I cant for the life of me find a route through from the engine bay.

    I've heard that there is an un-used gromet behind the fuse box but I really really cant see it. Also I've got air-con so will this stop me from seeing the gromet from the inside?

    Any pictures or advise please please send it my way.

    Many thanks

    Rob
    1.8 16v Titan gold coupe. Mods:Sebring XT1 back box, Remus centre race pipe, Promotasport air intake, Badgeless fk grill, Full irmy kit! Pics of my car

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i notice you have a 1.8 is it the z18 or x18

    if your 100 percent sure its not there you can drill through behind the glovebox next to the big blue wireing loom but mind the powersteering pump on the othere side

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Georgy's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    745
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    In my coup it was above the throttle pedal, quite high up.

    If you lay in your foot well and look up above the throttle pedal you will see the blank.
    And from the bonnet side left hand side!
    Arden Blue Astra Vxr

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    'R' Coupe''s Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Its the x18xe1, I just had another look and have seen the un-used gromet on the drivers side. Will 5m of power cable be long enough to reach the boot?
    1.8 16v Titan gold coupe. Mods:Sebring XT1 back box, Remus centre race pipe, Promotasport air intake, Badgeless fk grill, Full irmy kit! Pics of my car

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    if its the x18 you wont have a gromet its filled with throtle cable

    and i didnt have anywhere near enough cable but that all depends where your locating your kit and if your having distro blocks

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    'R' Coupe''s Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I'm thinking maybe just to get road radio to run the power cable, because if they mess it up they can then repair it. I can do all the rest I'm just not to happy with drilling through from the inside of the car and risking hitting the power steering pump. I also really want to keep all the cables one side of the car. Things like this really get to me because I hate giving up on anything I've just started.
    1.8 16v Titan gold coupe. Mods:Sebring XT1 back box, Remus centre race pipe, Promotasport air intake, Badgeless fk grill, Full irmy kit! Pics of my car

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    just look what you are doing it sounds like this is where most put it though so it cant be that hard and getting all the cables down one side will be tight even with somthing as small as 4AWG

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    'R' Coupe''s Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Has anybody got any pics of where the cable comes through? (by the power steering pump)
    1.8 16v Titan gold coupe. Mods:Sebring XT1 back box, Remus centre race pipe, Promotasport air intake, Badgeless fk grill, Full irmy kit! Pics of my car

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    5m should be plenty, I have a 4 and a 10awg going through the gromit and down drivers side. Both have a fair bit of slack in them.

    Best to keep speaker cable/RCA's separate from the power leads as can cause interference. The RCAs are very easy to run if you take out the glovebox as they will lay underneath it, and then run straight down the passengers side of the car.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    fourteenhundred's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    5,423
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i ran my amp power cable through my wing doesnt catch and is only barely noticeable when passangers door is open, i done this coz was too scared to drill lol
    Vectra GSi SeatsHella Headlights
    17" alloysPiper 3" rolled exhaust
    GSi Bumper & skirts
    Dropped on Coilovers

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. hid install help
    By liam-21 in forum Bodywork and Exterior
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-05-2010, 18:55
  2. Ice install help
    By rovkid in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15-11-2008, 20:21
  3. Ice Install
    By beastra in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-10-2003, 15:57

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •