Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Is the new turbo working?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Jonesy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,602
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Is the new turbo working?

    Quick query.

    got my engine running now, but think i've got an issue.

    I've put the vxr turbo on, primed it etc as you should, all seemed fine.

    Started the engine now properly, and i'm revving it a bit, and at 4000 revs, the baileys DV seems to be kicking in, but the psi boost gauge ive got hasnt even gone above 0.

    My gauge goes from -30 to 0 to +30 and as I say, it only seems to be getting to -10 and then thats it. Wont go any higher.

    Any ideas what this could be?

    Cheers
    Regal Phase 3.5,VXR Turbo,VXR AFM,VXR Injectors,Courtenay FMIC,Dbilias Flowmaster,Regal Precat,Miltek exhaust,Lightened Flywheel,Uprated Clutch,Denso Plugs,Veccy Pipe,Eibachs,308mm Discs

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    sri-turbo-19's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    900
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i dont think my gauge goes above 0 in neutral. try it out on the road mate.
    previous car - SRI Turbo
    new car - Focus RS

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    888rich's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    2,550
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    as above - revving wont do it properly

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Jonesy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,602
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ahhh could be ok then if what you're sayings anything to go by

    i cant drive it yet, shite

    got noo breaks, doing them as we speak

    is there a way i can tell if its working, other than road test?

    i think everythings connected properly, but im sure before with my old engine/turbo it used to goto 0, and dump all the time, i can take it to 4000 revs now and it wont, this is at idle though, so i bow to all youre superior knowledge if thats still the case ^
    Regal Phase 3.5,VXR Turbo,VXR AFM,VXR Injectors,Courtenay FMIC,Dbilias Flowmaster,Regal Precat,Miltek exhaust,Lightened Flywheel,Uprated Clutch,Denso Plugs,Veccy Pipe,Eibachs,308mm Discs

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Jonesy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,602
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    also, not sure if this makes a difference, ive never looked before, but when i rev/dumps slightly, the arm that holds the actuator rod doesnt move, should it? or am i getting confused agen
    Regal Phase 3.5,VXR Turbo,VXR AFM,VXR Injectors,Courtenay FMIC,Dbilias Flowmaster,Regal Precat,Miltek exhaust,Lightened Flywheel,Uprated Clutch,Denso Plugs,Veccy Pipe,Eibachs,308mm Discs

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    jam's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tamworth, Staffordshire
    Posts
    11,695
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Follow jam On Twitter
    No it needs to be on the road under load. Sorry Jonesy.
    Its a jam thing

    Haec credam a deo pio, a deo justo, a deo scito?



  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Jonesy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,602
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    gulp, im shittin myself now to be honest

    its looking like its going to be a late night fix tomorrow to get the brakes on, then test it.. but by that time I will already have the trailer here waiting, so will lose money if its gone tits up.

    I wonder if regal would like it if i dropped the car off and said, aswell as the mot and the map, fix this peice of crap lol

    fingers crossed the turbo works tomorrow
    Regal Phase 3.5,VXR Turbo,VXR AFM,VXR Injectors,Courtenay FMIC,Dbilias Flowmaster,Regal Precat,Miltek exhaust,Lightened Flywheel,Uprated Clutch,Denso Plugs,Veccy Pipe,Eibachs,308mm Discs

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    montyfox's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    7,434
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Ooo, this is getting exciting!

    I'm sure you have everything under control Jonesy, you just gotta think to yourself 'I'm the man that can'..

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    dazerc's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,483
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    it should boost or vaccum to -20 ish on idle then when u rev it standing still go to 0. So sounds like urs is working ok. only way to find out is to drive it
    SMIC, miltek catback, precat, Thorney remap 242.7 bhp 281lb/ft torque

Similar Threads

  1. Turbo not working?
    By TMX in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16-05-2008, 15:06

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •