Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Convertible remote roof?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Fully's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Convertible remote roof?

    Hi all,
    Apols for the newbie question but I'm getting conflicting info so far

    I'm looking at buying a 2.2 convertible on a 54 plate.. bloody gorgeous too! Been looking for a decent one for a while.. but anyway....

    Question is about the remote hood.. do all models come with it? I'm hearing that you need to keep your finger on the fob button to drop/raise it?

    Hopefully will be a proud owner sometime soon!

    Cheers,
    Fully.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    pecky's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,062
    Mentioned in
    8 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fully View Post
    I'm hearing that you need to keep your finger on the fob button to drop/raise it?
    Yes you do, keep your finger on the fob or the button inside the car. No other way I'm afraid.

    I haven't seen a mod yet to make it truely one touch, but I don't se it as a problem with mine.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Fully's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    No worries, thanks for that.. it was mainly the capability I was interested in, I guess it's standard across the range. Beats using the crank like I have to at the mo with the 306 I'm px'ing

    Fully

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by pecky View Post
    Yes you do, keep your finger on the fob or the button inside the car. No other way I'm afraid.

    I haven't seen a mod yet to make it truely one touch, but I don't se it as a problem with mine.
    Can you not use a window closure module?
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Its for safety lee, it would have to have some sort of trap guard which would stop the mechanism if it fealt resistance.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Does it not have one?

    Convertable owners must get through loads of remote batterys lol
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yeah it has one as standard, but if you altered the setup would it still work ???

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It does on the windows
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Burtdick's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    955
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It is possible to have full closure includng hood, incorporated into the alarm. When i had my alarm fitted to my GSi i asked if it was possible because i was thinkin of selling it and buying a convertable turbo. Altho im not sure i'd want it to always close everytime u lock it. i like the idea od being able to leave the roof down when poppin in the shops.

    but to answer the original question, yes it is a feature on all convertable models.
    Regal Phase 1 + Intercooler
    270BHP 300ftlb And Nothing Else, All standard

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    robokn's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2,995
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    There was a large bloke with one at last years PV and he remotely put the roof up
    The bitterness of poor quality is remembered long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten.

Similar Threads

  1. mk2 convertible roof
    By tdw19770 in forum Staffordshire and West Midlands Region
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21-06-2010, 23:36
  2. MY03 Convertible roof operation with remote
    By des in forum Electrical
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-03-2008, 10:12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •