Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Powering subwoofer from standard headunit

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    bigbear's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Powering subwoofer from standard headunit

    Hi guys just wondering can you power a subwoofer from the standard philips head unit?

    A guy at work had his car broken into and he doesnt want to get another headunit just yet so he is considering putting in the standard h/u and powering up another sub he has.
    Civic Type R

    www.motoraddicts.com

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Dannywrc's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,062
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It does work but i wouldnt recommend it. Stereo could go bang then he'll have to buy one anyway.

    My mate had one running off his head unit and it wasnt worth putting on really.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Vaux-Tom's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    same wudnt do it,
    cat u get a hu with a detachable fascia?
    u can buy kits that allow sub off standard hu's from some halfords

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    bigbear's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    114
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks for the replys guys

    yeh suppose he can get a detachable facia, think he had a dvd screen h/u before so not sure what he wants to do as he area is a sh!te hole
    Civic Type R

    www.motoraddicts.com

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19-09-2007, 19:21
  2. AUX In to standard headunit
    By J90RDN in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-05-2005, 11:58

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •