Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Empty air con?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    untouchable's Avatar
    Yer...I'm nuts!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    9,405
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Follow untouchable On Twitter

    Empty air con?

    Im new to the air con lark, so how do I tell if its empty?

    Sorry if its a totally dumb question, but I havent got a clue about it

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    KrisC's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,047
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It won't turn on if it's low on gas as there's a pressure switch.

    If it isn't cold then you'll need to get it recharged.
    Astra SRi Turbo
    281|317

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Fox's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    833
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Mine wont turn on, and has no gas in it, how to I find where its leaking from?
    Sold my Astra to buy a house.

    Now drive a 205 GTI 2.0 16v

    Cheap and Chearfull!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    KrisC's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,047
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You can get a gas with a dye in it, that'll tell you where it's coming from.

    Halford's sell it i think, just don't get the one with the leak sealer in it, it'll kill your compressor.
    Astra SRi Turbo
    281|317

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Millen99's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,381
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by KrisC View Post
    It won't turn on if it's low on gas as there's a pressure switch.
    Phew, i thought my compressor had gone!! But its definately low on gas as its been time since its last re-gas.

    Got mine booked in at vx for an air con service next week, done for PVS.

    Now i'm just hoping the weather is good enough to use it

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    untouchable's Avatar
    Yer...I'm nuts!!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    9,405
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Follow untouchable On Twitter
    Quote Originally Posted by KrisC View Post
    It won't turn on if it's low on gas as there's a pressure switch.

    If it isn't cold then you'll need to get it recharged.

    ahhhhhh ok, thanks

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    KrisC's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,047
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by GTE_LET View Post
    ahhhhhh ok, thanks
    No Prob's
    Astra SRi Turbo
    281|317

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    K3FUS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    5,752
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If you hear a rushing / hissing sound when you first turn it on it needs more gas. Don't worry as they do need to be re gassed every so often, but get it checked.
    Tell me what you've done, not what you're going to!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •