Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Sub to standard HU

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Luncheon Truncheon's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    563
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Sub to standard HU

    hi guys looking for some help as i know fluck all about ice.

    a mate at halfords showed me this; http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/s...tegoryrn_33921

    where it says
    hi level input for stereos with no RCA preouts.
    does that mean i could have it connected up to my totally standard system - CDR500 (i think, CD player/radio.)

    cheers
    really small and hard to read signature

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    moley_2003's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yup thats right mate, but you'd loose your rear speakers, you just feed the amp with the speaker wires through a block connector (which usualy doesnt come with the amp!) but quality is rubbish compaired to a decent HU with pre outs (even the cheep ones)

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Luncheon Truncheon's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    563
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok cheers mate. is that if i connected it to the hu??
    would it be possible to bridge it to th3 rear speakers?? or would that mess it all up??
    ta
    really small and hard to read signature

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    moley_2003's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yup thats if you connect it to the head unit. and no i dont think you can bridge it without blowing the hell out the HU! lol you would change the resistance of the rear speakers by connecting an amp like that, therefore i believe would either: screw up the sounds coming out the speakers, no sound come out the speakers at all (as the resistance is too high) or blow the hell out of the amp in the HU. so its not really recommended! To be honest mate, save all this hassle, it would be better to buy a aftermarket HU with pre out, they can be had for as little as £50 now days, hell even argos have them but then you get to keep all speakers, and run a amp & sub, and probably better sound quality too! but thats just my opinion

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Luncheon Truncheon's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    563
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok cheers mate, lol thought it may blow something!
    now just need to find a decent standard looking HU thatl work with the steering wheel controls etc...
    really small and hard to read signature

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    jayz_son's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    and powering a sub from a HU would be like running a hammer drill off a triple a 1.5v battery lol

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i think he means using the standard head unit as the input to the amp then to sub
    my friend once ran a sub from a head unit the raw 20rms was immense lol

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    jayz_son's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    my head unti has got high and low pass filters on it lol, dont know why its a tidy HU no1 would buy it and run a sub off it

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    my mate ran a dual 4 ohm coils of the rear channels can imagin it did much good especialy with it being stereo one coil trying to go one way and one the other cant be good

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    moley_2003's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jayz_son View Post
    my head unti has got high and low pass filters on it lol, dont know why its a tidy HU no1 would buy it and run a sub off it
    No no-one would run a sub straight off it mate (although i believe there to be one where you can) but the filters are there to stop the wrong frequency signals going to the amps that are driving the subs!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •