Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: My oil level sensor is not working!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    john1981's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,180
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    My oil level sensor is not working!

    Hey Guys,

    My oil level sensor is not working. I know its not the LED in the dash, so should I just replace the sensor? Does anyone have a part number and a price?

    Thanks.
    Drives: Astra MK4 Coupe 2.2 & MK4 Estate 1.7TDI (Car Modification Diary)

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The light on the dash is oil pressure, not level.

    The switch is 24577642 , but I've no idea on the price.

    Best check it is the switch at fault first tho, as it's behind the starter motor and a bitch to get at

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Could it just be a broken wire?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    john1981's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,180
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    Could it just be a broken wire?
    Could be, I have not actually looked. To be honest I'm not sure where the sensor is on the 2.2. Got my Haynes manual out from Dad's garage tonight and Im gonna go take a look tomorrow.
    Drives: Astra MK4 Coupe 2.2 & MK4 Estate 1.7TDI (Car Modification Diary)

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    as I said above, the oil pressure switch is behind the stater motor which you need to remove to get at it.

    If you have the trip computer fitted (with oil level/lack warning) fitted, then the sensor for that is on the rear of the sump

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    john1981's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,180
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ffoeg View Post
    The light on the dash is oil pressure, not level.

    The switch is 24577642 , but I've no idea on the price.

    Best check it is the switch at fault first tho, as it's behind the starter motor and a bitch to get at
    So what does the oil level sensor do if there is no warning light on the dash?
    Drives: Astra MK4 Coupe 2.2 & MK4 Estate 1.7TDI (Car Modification Diary)

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Which light are you talking about ? the red one on the dash that normally goes out when you start the engine?

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    john1981's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,180
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ffoeg View Post
    Which light are you talking about ? the red one on the dash that normally goes out when you start the engine?
    Yes
    Drives: Astra MK4 Coupe 2.2 & MK4 Estate 1.7TDI (Car Modification Diary)

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It's nothing to do with the oil level (as I said above) - it's oil pressure!!!

    So as you say, you know it's not the LED, I can only assume that it's working when you switch the ignition on and going out when the engines starts.

    If that's the case how do you know there is a fault?

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by john1981 View Post
    So what does the oil level sensor do if there is no warning light on the dash?
    If you have a trip computer it will tell you on there when you have a low oil level.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Oil level sensor help
    By bazact in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-2013, 18:23
  2. oil level sensor
    By zaffyjay24 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-02-2013, 16:05
  3. vxr oil level sensor
    By Buddle in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-06-2009, 20:21

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •