Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Electronics help please

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Online
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)

    Electronics help please

    Ok guys I know my car electrics but when it comes to electronics i'm a litle stumped but what I want is all 12 volt related as it's going to be used on a car

    I have a switch that when you press gives a output for as long as it's held then cuts off. What we need to do is change that into a signal that stays on so you push the button and you end up with a constant output and then you press it again and it switches off the output.

    It doesn't need to be high current as it will be switching a relay but what i'd like to know is does something like this exist and if anyone can find it for sale in Maplins or somewhere online it would be helpfull
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    PeteG's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Drives
    2.2 Astra G 3dr Hatch
    Location
    East Anglia
    Posts
    10,619
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    6 Post(s)
    Follow PeteG On Twitter
    just a thought but what about using something like the switch for the hazard lights? thats one push on, push again for off...
    NOW - Sapphire Black 3dr Astra G

    THEN - Glacier White 2.0Di Estate - 136bhp 1.6 Pineapple Yellow Mk3 - Flame Red 2.0Di Van - Chianti Red 1.8 Coupe - Star Silver 2.2 Zafira - Flame Red 2.2 Linea Rossa Coupe - Titan Gold 1.8 Coupe

    9 Years, 7 Astras, 1 Zafira, No Regrets.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Brett's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    14,196
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    could you just use a locking switch? or do you need the current to stay for certain amount of time then switch off?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Pete 2's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,138
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I'll have a look at work tomorrow Andy.
    Might have one like it somewhere.
    They do exist.
    The button stays in slightly when on, & protude's out when off.
    Very much like a click pen.
    Anyway, I'll check tomorrow for you m8.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    At the moment you have a 'push to make switch' and you need a on/off locking switch. Plenty on maplin here

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?...id=-2&doy=19m4

    Edit there isn't actually that many,

    this one looks ok though, just a black square link

    Or a round red one link

  6. #6
    Status
    Online
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Want to use a switch thats we already have, if it's a case of I can't do anything with it i'll just add new switchs but thats the easy option

    Want to know if there's some electric gizmo that can create what I want from the switch we already hav
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    cut out the back of the switch that you already have and fix it over the top of the square switch that i posted
    Would only work though if the switch you already have is quite big in size

  8. #8
    Status
    Online
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Large switch yes. Lots of other bits in the switch we are using yes so not a option

    I take it transistors are just low current switches from pos to neg?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Simon-DTi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    3,463
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you need a t-type flip flop to do that Andy, take a look on google there should be a few examples, simply you take a jk flipflop and join the inputs together, that'll make a single input toggle latch which is just what you need. one click on then click again to turn it off. I think that's what you are trying to do, kind of how the TC switch in the mk4's work?
    2 Door E350 CDI - OM642 power baby
    emJlZnIgdmYgZmJiYmIgeW5mZyBscm5l

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Legoman's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    5,151
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If you want to stay away from transistors, you could try a latching relay. Would imagine you've used those within car electronics anyway mate

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...relay&doy=20m4

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone into electronics?
    By Glowstone in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-04-2013, 00:00
  2. Car Electronics
    By ssa17WS in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-10-2008, 21:39

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •