Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Aussie Astra H CDC40

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    BMAN's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Aussie Astra H CDC40

    Hello all I have a aussie astra 3 door coupe with a cdc40 HU. I have recently install 2 amp and a sub. The problem is trying to turn on the amps when the key in the accessory position. Currently I have a switch under the driver's seat to turn the amps on and off. Is there away of turning on the amps with the key in the ignition?

    Help thanks.

    Links to some pic of my ICE install.
    http://www.opelaus.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12383

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    jam's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tamworth, Staffordshire
    Posts
    11,695
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Follow jam On Twitter
    You'd need to use some form of transistor off the iginition live (or possibly a relay) to then take power to the amps. Don't ask me how but in theory thats what could work. Wait till after 6:00pm UK time and a member called Autosparks will be on. He'll have the answers.

    In Autosparks we trust.


    Very nice car BTW.
    Its a jam thing

    Haec credam a deo pio, a deo justo, a deo scito?



  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi welcome...
    there is an ignition live wire taped up beside the power source to the ciggy socket.

    If you unwrap the tape for the ciggy socket wire, it will be there

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The above is one way to go about it but I assume you are using a line output convertor (LOC) of some type to give you RCA outputs for the amps? If so then the way I would go about this would be to get a high quality LOC i.e. JL cleansweep, that provides a remote out, as these generally provide a signal once the speaker wires see power. This way the amps turn on after the headunit so you will not get the thump plus you will get equalisation and summation of the speaker signals and a line driver all in one.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    BMAN's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BasilD View Post
    The above is one way to go about it but I assume you are using a line output convertor (LOC) of some type to give you RCA outputs for the amps? If so then the way I would go about this would be to get a high quality LOC i.e. JL cleansweep, that provides a remote out, as these generally provide a signal once the speaker wires see power. This way the amps turn on after the headunit so you will not get the thump plus you will get equalisation and summation of the speaker signals and a line driver all in one.
    Yes I'm using 2 line converters from the HU.


    The JL Cleansweep may be a little over my budget. But will look into it.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I cannot remember 100% but I am sure that the Alpine LOC the 4311 has a remote out. Might just solve you problem and they come in at a resonable £15 or so for one.

Similar Threads

  1. CDC40 Opera into Astra
    By Astra2.0TD in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-05-2014, 19:05
  2. aussie OPC astra
    By sriturbo in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 18-05-2008, 10:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •