Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Anyone clued up on the Nokia N95..?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Finch's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    334
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Anyone clued up on the Nokia N95..?

    Morning folks.

    Purchased a Nokia N95 yesterday and was curious to know what people think of them? It's already got Sat-Nav built in but what else can I download to go on it?

    Any websites worth checking out?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    gRoberts's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,340
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I was looking at this but the GPS is putting me off. From what i understand instead of being like CoPilot and TomTom it downloads the maps on the go. So if you can, i'd get hold of TomTom straight away.

    Apart from that it looks great. I haven't seen whats actually on there so I wouldn't know what needs to go on there.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    If you get the N95 on O2 they supply a memory card with all the mapping on it. It doesn't do voice nav though apparently but i've yet to test any of that out
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Rob's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,595
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I still cant get mine working either...it just spends about 2 days trying to plan your route!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Andy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    5,313
    Mentioned in
    5 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    from what i read about it it doesnt come with sat nav software, if you got hold of the tomtom software it would work the same as that, but wihtout it is just a map really not navigation software,

    im hoping to order mine in a few weeks so looking to try to get hold of the tomtom software soon so its ready,
    Drives - 08 Astra SRi XP 1.9CDTi 150

    Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Finch's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    334
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Where could I get the TomTom software from and how would I go about putting that on the phone? I wouldn't really know what to do...

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Rob's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,595
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    this may help... http://www.n95mapping.co.uk/

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    gRoberts's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,340
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    TomTom.com

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Mitul's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    146
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    u get the map preloaded on the phone, but it will not voice navigate, to make it voice navigate u need to purchase a licience £47 for 3yrs.

    With TOMTOM, this will install fine but the tomtom software will only work if u have a external gps recieiver, as TOMTOM does not support built in gps receivers, but they are to make this software shortly, i would wait till tomtom software comes out

    hope it helps

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Joereynolds89's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2,099
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    does the n95 have gps? i have tomtom on my phone, but need an external bluetooth gps unit so that i can get connections?
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. anyone clued up on the Wii ?
    By Craig in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-09-2007, 14:57
  2. Clued up!
    By stu_mk4sport in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23-01-2007, 20:55

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •