Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: "Brake pad" warning on board computer

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    2fast's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    "Brake pad" warning on board computer

    Yesterday I got the "Brake pad" warning on my board computer. I checked out my front brake pads, which are almost new, and they look as brand new.

    So I checked out my rear brake pads, and they are almost "done"... They are 2-3 mm thick. But I donīt think that the rear pads have a sensor to warn me that they are worn out.

    So, is there a sensor on the rear brakes? Or is it just a error in the system, because my front brake pads are not warn?

    Or is it something else?

    Itīs an 2001. Astra G Coupe Turbo
    Astra Coupé Turbo Z20LET GT28RS

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    did you fit the new sensor when you did your brakes on the front

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Andy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    5,313
    Mentioned in
    5 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yer there are only sensors on the front wheels, so must be a fulty sensor,
    Drives - 08 Astra SRi XP 1.9CDTi 150

    Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    TheSlims's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    119
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by 2fast View Post
    Yesterday I got the "Brake pad" warning on my board computer. I checked out my front brake pads, which are almost new, and they look as brand new.

    So I checked out my rear brake pads, and they are almost "done"... They are 2-3 mm thick. But I donīt think that the rear pads have a sensor to warn me that they are worn out.

    So, is there a sensor on the rear brakes? Or is it just a error in the system, because my front brake pads are not warn?

    Or is it something else?

    Itīs an 2001. Astra G Coupe Turbo
    Hi, you sensors probably worn/broke before your pads/discs need changing.

    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=100692

    Just posted above.
    - Astra Coupe 2.2 16v Bertone Europa Blue-

    <<< astra-sport (Beds Region) >>>
    ...COME AND JOIN IN THE FUN...

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Jonesy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,602
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hmmmm, if this is the case i may have the exact issue.

    my front brakes are fine, my rear ones are warn ish.. but if as you say, the rear ones dont have the sensor.. i dunno what could be up
    Regal Phase 3.5,VXR Turbo,VXR AFM,VXR Injectors,Courtenay FMIC,Dbilias Flowmaster,Regal Precat,Miltek exhaust,Lightened Flywheel,Uprated Clutch,Denso Plugs,Veccy Pipe,Eibachs,308mm Discs

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Dynamic Jay's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Drives
    Astra Sri Turbo 190
    Location
    Donemana/ Tyrone
    Posts
    596
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Add Dynamic Jay on Facebook
    Yeah I have the same problem new pads and sensors and the warning is still there.
    Astra SRI-Turbo, now running CSS4 300bhp & 369ft/lbs
    <-- New pics and garage updated with spec list!

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    sjflat's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    5,689
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Sorry to bump an old thread but I recently got some new pads and was told that you need to change the sensor wires at the same time. IS this the case or can you simply re-use the old ones? (by the looks of this thread, you do need to).

    Cheers,

    Steve
    Nova Merit: 2000-2003 // Irmschered Astra SRi: 2003-2005 // Leon Cupra R: 2005 - 2006 // Linea Rossa Convertible Turbo: 2006-2008 // BMW 840Ci: 2008 - 2012

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Ruperts Trooper's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,471
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You do need new sensor wires as well as new pads - some non OE pads don't have provision for the sensors in which case the sensor wires need to be wired together to avoid the warning.
    Maintains:- Vectra Design 1.9CDTi
    Drives :- Hyundai Santa Fe


  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Burtdick's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    955
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    When i had mine changed lasty year at vauxhalls, it took 2 days lol. Took it in on the first day and they rang me and said that the pads design had been changed at some point since mine was built in 03 and they needed a special kit to fit in the new sensors otherwise it'l flag up a message. Im guessing it is this. Or just that your rears have worn and need replacing. Worth bearing in mind tho.
    Regal Phase 1 + Intercooler
    270BHP 300ftlb And Nothing Else, All standard

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I would have said you only need to replace the sensors if the warning light says your brake pads need doing
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •