Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Where could I find a switched live under the bonnet?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    MarkyG's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Where could I find a switched live under the bonnet?

    I need a source for a 12V live that switches on with the key, from under the bonnet (ie not taking the cables into the cabin) can anyone suggest a good place to get that?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Pete 2's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,138
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    This might get a better response from the "Electrical" Forums in the Mark Specific Garages area.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Moved

    the live feed for the wipers would work

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    MarkyG's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    anything straight out of the fusebox that would work?

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The spare slot in the relay box is for headlight washers - that might be useful to tap into as it won't be affecting anything else (assuming you've not got washers)

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    pepe's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    theres 2 black wires in the car loom that are switched live.i use these wires on mine 1 to power my xe ecu and the other ive used for a temp bodge for my PAS

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I'd do as Geoff says and use the feed that goes to the wipers. It's a Black/Violet wire
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    MarkyG's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Its for powering wideband lambda, i have no idea why this took so long to think of, but im going to use the lambda wires ive disconnected (smacksheadintowall)

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkyG View Post
    but im going to use the lambda wires ive disconnected (smacksheadintowall)
    What a good idea

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    MarkyG's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,442
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    any idea what the wires are - ive got

    white
    white
    grey
    black


    or possibly


    white
    grey
    grey
    black

    haynes only has x18xe1, I have z18.

Similar Threads

  1. Switched live?
    By johnsastra16v in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-01-2013, 18:33
  2. MK5 Switched Live Again
    By brougham in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-07-2008, 00:28

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •