Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Anyone use OBD2 TECH2 software?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    john1981's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,180
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Anyone use OBD2 TECH2 software?

    Hey Guys,

    I bought myself a TECH2 serial cable and I have an old laptop with Windows 2000 installed on it. The cable came with software called "Opel Diagnostics for Windows". I tried to get it to work today but it would not communicate with the car. I have downloaded several other free OBD2 diagnostics applications which I will test tomorrow. I just wondered if anyone could recommend some free software thats good.

    John
    Drives: Astra MK4 Coupe 2.2 & MK4 Estate 1.7TDI (Car Modification Diary)

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    i use the vetronix same as tech2 that i get off a friend when i want to do a few bits
    your better off with a cheap code reader if you ask me

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    john1981's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,180
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dannysport18 View Post
    i use the vetronix same as tech2 that i get off a friend when i want to do a few bits
    your better off with a cheap code reader if you ask me
    Well long term I am planning on selling my cable and getting a ScanGuage 2. Just need something to tie me over.
    Drives: Astra MK4 Coupe 2.2 & MK4 Estate 1.7TDI (Car Modification Diary)

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Ruperts Trooper's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,471
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I bought the VauxCheck from Gendan, £125, it works fine on virtually every Vauxhall from '97 to '03.

    On the basis of "you get what you pay for" a cheap cable and free software won't ever be any good.
    Maintains:- Vectra Design 1.9CDTi
    Drives :- Hyundai Santa Fe


  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    jam's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tamworth, Staffordshire
    Posts
    11,695
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Follow jam On Twitter
    Its about £30 to download so worth a shot if you have the cable.

    www.gendan.co.uk
    Its a jam thing

    Haec credam a deo pio, a deo justo, a deo scito?



  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    toyotacelicagt4's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by john1981 View Post
    Hey Guys,

    I bought myself a TECH2 serial cable and I have an old laptop with Windows 2000 installed on it. The cable came with software called "Opel Diagnostics for Windows". I tried to get it to work today but it would not communicate with the car. I have downloaded several other free OBD2 diagnostics applications which I will test tomorrow. I just wondered if anyone could recommend some free software thats good.

    John
    Where did you get the cable from if you dont mind me asking?
    1996 Celica GT-Four ST205 Dyno'd @ 302bhp

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    john1981's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,180
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by toyotacelicagt4 View Post
    Where did you get the cable from if you dont mind me asking?
    eBay, I think I paid £30 inc delivery.
    Drives: Astra MK4 Coupe 2.2 & MK4 Estate 1.7TDI (Car Modification Diary)

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    A5TRA 59ORT's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,202
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    i borrowed a cable from a friend as i have been messing about writing my own virtual dash software and i couldn't get it to work but he has had it working on his wifes saxo and his VW.

    the cable will need to support VPWM (Variable Pulse Width Modulation) in order to work

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    skippy53's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Opel Tech2

    HI.

    I have a 2003 Astra G, the dash board stopped working a long time ago, the Vauxhall stealers diagnosed it as dead and needing replacement.

    I bought a second hand dash which has worked perfectly in a mates car and when he totalled it I inherited the dash, same year as mine same just a LOT more miles.

    What has this got to do with OPEL TECH2 ? well....

    I bought this months ago and have had really good results, managed to solve all sorts of problems, it has a feature to reset the millage (KM Calibrate its called)

    I set about plugging in, read the eeprom, it displayed the current millage as per the dash and I entered the new millage, two minutes later the dashboard was showing the same millage !, great, well no, I had a typing error and took 10k off the cars miles.

    I set about reading again, changing it and carefully checking this time for the correct miles and hit write, whilst it was doing this the laptop entered power saving mode and bosh now all the dials no longer work.

    A call to vauxhall, aparantly I need to have them rewrite all the paramiters from their official tech2, I explained to the technition what I'd done and how I'd screwed it all up and he did know of the opel tech2 that runs on the laptop and said that if I can read someone elses eeprom and then write that to my car it will fix the problem and then its just correct the millage again, and all will be well, otherwise its an hours labour for them, Grr.

    My question - now I've explained the background.

    Has anyone got this same device and would be prepaired to email me the eeprom.bin file that is created when you read the instruments via this software?.

    Cheers,

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    robwillis69's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    404
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i have a eprom bin file if needed

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Tech2 Or Obd2
    By chrispy in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-08-2008, 18:42
  2. OBD2 Software
    By A51M in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-12-2007, 22:11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •