Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Diagnostics protocol

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    redmist's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    240
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Diagnostics protocol

    Being a software boffin myself, I was wondering If i could write my own code to read my diagnostics port on the coupe turbo.
    (Yes I know you can by the readers from £30 upwards, but I like challenges!)

    All software that communicates from one place to another in its basic form uses strings of text written to and from two places, i.e. laptop to car then car back to laptop, the software that people like Gendan create is the front to this.

    But the problem is if you have to know the right 'question' or code to ask the unit you are trying to communicate with. On your home PC or laptop you have a program called Hyperterminal which you can use to 'speak' to allsorts of comms ports.

    The various things I need to know are, the wiring layout of the diagnostic port, its comms settings and which 'registers' to talk to and how to speak to them.

    I have tried searching on the net and I am very doubtful I would be able to find this stuff out being controlled by the car industry!! But if anyone knows anything or knows someone who does, let me know please!
    Astra Coupe Turbo
    CS1: 243 BHP 257 lb/Ft Torque


    Check Out Redmist's Story!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Coo's Avatar
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    25,105
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Can you get hold of cheap ebay diagnostic software and backward engineer it ??

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    dazerc's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,483
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    After a search on google for writing sofware for obd2 found the pinouts for the obd2 connector
    http://www.akmcables.com/techinfo.htm

    if you want to make the reader urself
    http://www.planetfall.com/~jeff/obdii/
    SMIC, miltek catback, precat, Thorney remap 242.7 bhp 281lb/ft torque

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    dazerc's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,483
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    found a entire forum on obd2 on a forum specially aimed towards on board pcs in your car.

    http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/obd-ii/
    SMIC, miltek catback, precat, Thorney remap 242.7 bhp 281lb/ft torque

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Scottyboy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,750
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    PM'ed you with that info mate.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    cgriffo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    What language are you going to write it in?

    I done some reading it looks pretty simple to get the data back, all you do is ask for the data then it send in the next echo.

    I think a solid state boost gauage interface to show boost on MFD would be real good.

    There are some serial to pendrive devices to save the obd data to pen so later usage.

Similar Threads

  1. Protocol help?
    By adrianleigh in forum Diesel Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 12-08-2012, 16:00
  2. obd 2 protocol
    By astravauxhall in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-02-2009, 21:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •