Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: XP PRO question

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    ste_goffy's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,060
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    XP PRO question

    i am running 2 computers in the same house, both with windows xp on, (which they came with)

    now both computers are now starting to do mysterious things, is i am going to buy a legit copy of windows,

    the question is: If i buy a legit copy of xp pro and install it onto 1 machine, am i allowed to use it on the other to? or do i have to purchase another cd key?

    is there a xp pro disc out that allows me to add xp to more than 1 computer? such as a system builders cd?

    thanks in advance

    steve

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Stu's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    266
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Don't see why not,I've got the same copy on 3 machine's here and had no problems in over 2 years.

    Dave Dempsey is.... Darth Vader!
    He's a big **** with an attitude

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    ZS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    9,491
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    No, you need one licence per machine. Anything is is illegal, and is software piracy.

    You can save your money by getting an OEM licence, which you have to buy with a major component (like a hard-drive or something like that). they're about £80 for an OEM XP Pro, or about £60 for XP Home (which will be fine as I doubt you need to connect to a NT Domain).
    2007 Metro Blue 5 door Mk5 Elite 1.7CDTI
    6th Vauxhall (4th Astra) in 10 years...plus a couple of other sheds...

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Turbo_Scott's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,474
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    One licence per PC unless you have a Volume Licence key.
    Fastest, Most Powerful & Only Mag Featured Astra In The AOC Cumbrian Region

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    sjj84's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,305
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Did the computers not come with legit copies of windows in the first place? If so have you tried reinstalling them before you fork out for more copies?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    ste_goffy's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,060
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    id not get the discs with the computers unfortunately,

    scott where do you get a volume licence from?

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Joereynolds89's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2,099
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Its possible to install on both computers, you shouldnt be caught out doing it, as any interaction with the internet will be coming from what will seem to microsoft as the same computer, same IP, however it is illegal and as said a volume license key will be needed.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Simon-DTi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    3,463
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Joereynolds89
    Its possible to install on both computers, you shouldnt be caught out doing it, as any interaction with the internet will be coming from what will seem to microsoft as the same computer, same IP, however it is illegal and as said a volume license key will be needed.
    Please can I have some of what you are smoking?

    You need one licence per pc, be that OEM (if bought with hardware) or full retail boxes (if not bought with hardware)

    Just because they come from the same IP doesn't make them the same pc.

    Volume keys are only available to corporate customers.
    2 Door E350 CDI - OM642 power baby
    emJlZnIgdmYgZmJiYmIgeW5mZyBscm5l

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Volume Licence costs more as you need to buy at least 5 ( as far as I can remember )...

    Please dont post anything that says to use windows illegally... One licence per PC.. simple...
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Simon-DTi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    3,463
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Xp is only available as upgrade on Open too, so you'd need a legal 95/98/2000 on there already.
    2 Door E350 CDI - OM642 power baby
    emJlZnIgdmYgZmJiYmIgeW5mZyBscm5l

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Quick Question..Curious Question regarding Vauxhall
    By trez in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22-09-2008, 23:52
  2. Tyre Question + Lowering Question
    By dp88 in forum Chassis
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17-05-2008, 20:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •