Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: vxr amm vs z20let amm

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    turbodara's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    319
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    vxr afm vs z20let afm

    not sure but i think my afm is gone and was wondering is it better to go for the vxr one or get a standard z20let one , and will it fit straight on

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Jonesy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,602
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you need to get different size hoses with the vxr one too, i think theyre 80mm you need as the afm is a bit bigger.

    Also, i think(but not 100% sure) you need a remap if you put the vxr one on, but may be thinking about something else, so hopefully someone will clarify it.

    If you can afford the above extras, def go for it, as its a worthy upgrade
    Regal Phase 3.5,VXR Turbo,VXR AFM,VXR Injectors,Courtenay FMIC,Dbilias Flowmaster,Regal Precat,Miltek exhaust,Lightened Flywheel,Uprated Clutch,Denso Plugs,Veccy Pipe,Eibachs,308mm Discs

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The VXR one needs tweaks to the software to use it. Its also 80mm compared to the 70mm of the standard let one

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    wywywywy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,478
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Can you use the VXR housing, and put the Z20LET sensor in? (If they can be disassembled.)
    Astra Coupe Turbo Project Log KW var2, BK299, Apexi, HID, Angel, Leather Cobra, Phoenix Gold, GT/R2, Fluted, DV26D, Pre/Sports/Catback, CarPC, B&M, VXR Turbo, Tarox-10, Phase 3! Car is for sale!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    montyfox's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    7,434
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wywywywy
    Can you use the VXR housing, and put the Z20LET sensor in? (If they can be disassembled.)
    Wouldn't of thought so, it will probably not work properly due to the increased airflow compared to the smaller 70mm housing that it should be fitted in. It would possibly confuse the ecu.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    mattcoupturbo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    4,765
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by montyfox
    Wouldn't of thought so, it will probably not work properly due to the increased airflow compared to the smaller 70mm housing that it should be fitted in. It would possibly confuse the ecu.
    Surely thats the case then if you fit a induction kit? I cann't see it being that huge a difference to the ecu swapping the cases over. Would love someone to quote the exact parts of the software that get changed to prove me wrong though

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    chuntnigton101's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you cant sawp out the eliment of the 70 for the 80mm version. you have to rember this is the way the engine know how much air is going into it. therfore if you bbypass this you are infact letting more air into the engine that whjat it thinks is getting in there. this leads to running lead and dept., melted pistons and bust head gaskets!

    if you want to sawp to the 80mm version then its really better the get the thing remapped with it!

    you have to remeber that ITS ALL IN THE TUNE!!!!! this is for both safety and power!

    thanks Chris.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Enkidu's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,716
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It wont work without a remap...

    I spoke to courtenay about it and they only have the map for their CS4 but would develop it for their other tunes if someone wanted the AFM installed. If I start to get problems with mine i'll probably go for it.
    Arden Astra GSI - Phase 3.5

    EDS Phase 3.5 288 BHP 340 FT/LB

    Inlet cam and Dbilas manifold.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    chuntnigton101's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    of course i would say just get rid of it all together and run speed density tune!

    then you can run as big pipe as you want to the trubo!

    Chris.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    DaveDempsey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,365
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Without a map it wont work, I tried this when the VXR first came out, worthwhile if yourr going for more power though.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •