Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: computer help needed

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    ste_goffy's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,060
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    computer help needed

    hi peeps, bought a motherboard and a graphics card off a friend, to upgrade my other computer, so i set to it tonight and stripped it and rebuilt it, now i have built computers from scratch before, so not a big problem (well i thought) plugged everything in, fired her up and now i get a message on the screen in red saying

    "!!!!!!!!!!!!!!IDE DRIVES INTALLATION ERROR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    For best reliability& performance, please change the stand alone slave drive to master, System halt..."

    only thing i have changed is the motherboard from a standard packard bell to a asrock k7s41gx purely becase of the quickness of the processor.

    any ideas?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Turbo_Scott's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,474
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I havent had that error before but have you connected a Hard Drive as a Slave to the motherboard, when it should be either Master or Cable Select?

    A slave drive is device number 1 (0 is Master) normally the Master is a hard drive and the slave is a CD Rom or similar. So if you have only one IDE Device (in this case a hard drive) connected and its set as Slave then it might give this error.....

    Check the little black plastic jumper on the hard drive.

    Failing that, are u using a UDMA66 or UDMA33 IDE cable? some new motherboards dont like the old UDMA33 cables.
    Fastest, Most Powerful & Only Mag Featured Astra In The AOC Cumbrian Region

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    ste_goffy's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,060
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the jumper i have tried rebooting it in master and cable select and none seem to work, now that you say about the ide cable i have never came across this but i have a new cable so i'll try that in a mo,

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Turbo_Scott's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,474
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It's worth a shot replacing the IDE cable, I've had a few problems with works pc's that have been rectified with a new IDE cable.
    Fastest, Most Powerful & Only Mag Featured Astra In The AOC Cumbrian Region

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Teejay's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    6,383
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    And make sure it is an IDE cable I've had that issue at work too
    0-60 in 6.5 secs and 48mpg- winner!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Rob_1.816v's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,012
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yep i've been there, IDE cables can be strange, also dont run a cdrom off the same IDE lead as your hard-drive if u can help it, it forces the IDE bus to operate at the speed of the slowest component (cdrom)

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    willbaroo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,477
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Is this a BIOS or Windows related error?

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    ste_goffy's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,060
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i think its the motherboard as i have swapped the board back to the original and it works perfectly again

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    willbaroo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,477
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Could be windows not liking the fact you have changed your hardware, I had that problem, not with same error how ever. I might be totaly wrong though...

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Teejay's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    6,383
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just because the old motherboard doesn't mind the IDE cable you're using, doesn't mean the new one is foobarred - just means it doesn't like either the IDE cable or the HDD.
    0-60 in 6.5 secs and 48mpg- winner!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Computer Help Needed
    By SpideyMack in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 30-05-2007, 23:58
  2. Computer help needed?
    By TFU in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 24-11-2005, 12:47
  3. computer help needed
    By ASTRA-BOY in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-12-2004, 22:30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •