Thread: Replacing dash light bulbs

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Replacing dash light bulbs

I've got 2 dash lights that have gone (one for the fuel and one for the speedometer). How hard is it for a complete novice to get behind the dash board to replace this? Vauxhall have quoted £126 (£125 labour, the £1 for the bulbs).

My 2nd question is, is it possible that the the bulbs can be changed for any other colours? Possible colours that I would be interested in is a brilliant white colour, cool blue or red. What kind of bulbs would I need and where can I get them from? Thanks in advance.
    Rolling Road - Northampton Motorsport 19/02/05

Completely standard: 202.5 bhp, 214 lb ft.

Status
    AOC Gold Member
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    omg!!!! £125 labour! i changed mine in about 20 mins! there is ahow to in the "how 2" section

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If ur after different colours then LEDs will be the ones u need - contact Kirsty (a member on here) for details - superbright quality LEDs as opposed to the dubious quality units aplenty on ebay.

Here's her profile: http://www.m1gst.com/vb/member.php?u=606

As for fitting the bulbs - this is pretty straight forward, the HOW TO isnt the best format IMO as its too cluttered.

Ive PM'd some better instructions on how to change the instrument panel lighting. Unable to post on forum due to copyright issues.

Any questions let me know.

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Vauxhall make me sick! That is way over the top for the time it takes to do it yourself.

Simply four screws two above and two below steering wheel, then unclip leads from the back.

Two places to get them from:

Kirsty (As mentioned on here)

or www.crazyleds.co.uk for complete kit.