Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Show me your Pioneer Head Units

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Show me your Pioneer Head Units

    I'm looking to get a new/nearly new Head Unit, but I can't decide which one to go for, despite trawling about various websites. I'm not sure I like the single rotary dial near the middle as it breaks up the symmetry (read as, I'm really picky). Or if you have any reccomendations of any, please could you put them up here too.

    > Must be steering wheel control compatible
    > Must have AUX input (I think all of the P series have this anyway)
    > Not overly fussed about bluetooth etc
    > Must be iPod ready
    > Must have OEL screen with fancy graphics! (Mainly for the iPod text)
    > Must be Pinoeer as I already have the Aux input lead and the iPod interface.

    Looking to spend around £200, but thats not necessarily how much I will end up spending, could be lower or higher.

    What ya got!
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    dr_shabzzz's Avatar
    AOC Lite Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,547
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    8600mp is the best for that price...can't go wrong!! love mine! and meets all your requirements...such a sexy looking unit, agree with you about the symmetry, 8600mp is perfectly symmetrical

    you can get them much cheaper than £200 from the states aswell...but then you don't get all the radiostations...not thats its bothered me

    ...they go on ebay UK for around 200 mark (UK version headunit)



    not such a great pici of the unit, but you get the idea


  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    wywywywy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,478
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    As if by magic, I do have the American version of the DEH-P8600MP!
    It is called DEH-P860MP Premier, and I can get all UK radio stations ok.

    The 8600 and 860 don't come with AUX-input, and is not iPod ready as standard. You need to buy their accessory leads (that you already have) which connect to the IP-BUS port at the back of the unit. The leads are not that expensive but not cheap either.

    I wouldn't call the OEL screen on 8600/860 fancy, it can only display 16 or so colours. Although its like WOW when you first see it, but you get bored of it really quick.

    The sound quality however is very good!! The remote is also pretty nice.

    If I could choose again I'd spend a little bit more and go for the DEH-P9600MP for its fanciness






    By the way if you decide not to buy a Pioneer, sell me your AUX lead!!!
    Or alternatively buy my 860 so that I can go buy a 9600
    Astra Coupe Turbo Project Log KW var2, BK299, Apexi, HID, Angel, Leather Cobra, Phoenix Gold, GT/R2, Fluted, DV26D, Pre/Sports/Catback, CarPC, B&M, VXR Turbo, Tarox-10, Phase 3! Car is for sale!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    wrighty's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    447
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok not the best picture in the world but, its mine my 9600


  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    dr_shabzzz's Avatar
    AOC Lite Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,547
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the 9600mp is the same unit, same display but with a rotating face thing...not a propper face off! 8600 all the way...imo the nicer looking unit

    according to Jace...he already has the pioneer adapters also

    wywywywy i'd like to know how you manage to get all UK radio stations on ur american unit...as i can only get odd numbers (or even-can't remember which!)


  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cant you change the tuning mode in the offline menu?

    Turn the unit off, hold down "Func" untill the menu appears and I think there's a setting in there to adjust the tuning rate.

    Quite liking the 8600, just a case of finding somewhere that sells it and at a price that wont make me feel like I'm having my pants pulled down.
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    AJB2K3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,504
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Why plump for a low quality head unit when an most modern Alpine head units fit the bill.
    I'm like a bad penny, old, dirty, and appears when not wanted.
    Guess who's writing a victorian fantasy book. #JamesPurcell #The Diaries of James Purcell

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cos I want a Pioneer. Plus I already have the iPod interface and Aux input lead.
    And I would hardly call Pioneer low quality either. Thanks for you input though.
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    wywywywy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,478
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_shabzzz
    the 9600mp is the same unit, same display but with a rotating face thing...not a propper face off! 8600 all the way...imo the nicer looking unit

    according to Jace...he already has the pioneer adapters also

    wywywywy i'd like to know how you manage to get all UK radio stations on ur american unit...as i can only get odd numbers (or even-can't remember which!)
    I thought the 9600 has a better screen? As in it can display more colours? Or am I mistaken?

    I don't know why I can get all UK radio stations... but I just can!
    By the way this is the one I've got.
    http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_2700.html

    While you can get the same performance (in terms of sound quality) from Alpine for less money, I wouldn't call Pioneer low quality either. And the Alpine headunits look so un-sexy!

    The one major thing I don't like about Pioneer is... why the hell do we need to pay an extra 20 quid for an AUX input cable?! Shouldn't such a simple thing be included like every mid to high end headunit in the last 10 years!?
    Astra Coupe Turbo Project Log KW var2, BK299, Apexi, HID, Angel, Leather Cobra, Phoenix Gold, GT/R2, Fluted, DV26D, Pre/Sports/Catback, CarPC, B&M, VXR Turbo, Tarox-10, Phase 3! Car is for sale!

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    dr_shabzzz's Avatar
    AOC Lite Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,547
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    alpine is definitely and ugly bastoord unit...pioneer is 10x sexier!

    never had any problems with it either in 1.5 years, touchwood...

    only niggle is that there isn't a pause button...you have to scroll through the menu to get to it argg

    I'll try what you said Jace to see if i can change the tuning rate...couldn't be bothered though tbh, i've got tonnnes of mp3 cds


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Pioneer Head Units
    By Tristan001 in forum In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-12-2008, 08:59
  2. Show me you head units
    By silverstar in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 19-08-2004, 13:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •