Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Sub wiring help asap please

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    doofy1985's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    269
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Sub wiring help asap please

    ive got 2 x type r subs which are 4ohm each but i need to run them down to 2ohm to get the most out of my amp.

    how do i go about doin this ??


    cheers

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    moley_2003's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    as long as the subs are single voice coil 4 ohm subs then you can run them in parallel. basically link the positives of the subs together and the negatives together.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what amp are you running them from if its a monoblock wirethem like abouve if you runnung them from a 2channel amp put one on each channel because most 2channel amps wont run in 2ohm bridge

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    doofy1985's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    269
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the subs are dual voice coil so does this mean ive brought the wrong ones ???

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    doofy1985's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    269
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    its rockford fosgate 1500db mono

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    subs are ok wire them as above sorry to worry you just didnt want you to damage your amp

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    moley_2003's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yes, its not possible to wire 2 dual 4ohm voice coil subs to show a 2ohm load, its either 0.5ohm, 2ohm or 8ohm im affraid. see here

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ignore me double post

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i think the subs are dual 2ohm =4 ohm two of these would showe a overall 2 ohm load

  10. #10

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. z20let engine wiring pin data needed asap
    By edwards_sri in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20-11-2010, 13:20
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-09-2010, 09:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •