Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Mirror Switch...

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    websitedragon's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Mirror Switch...

    I'm just trying to buy one and I believe I need the one where the plug goes directly in to the switch unit. However I've been offered one of the vauxhall switches with a loom on it, are these cross compatible so possible for me to cut the wires and wire it up directly?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    the ones in the mk4 dont have a loom on them mate

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    As said, the switch with the loom is for the older models, like the mk3. The loom inside the door plugs directly into the back of the switch. I bought the odler style one froma scrappy and had to bin it cos it was the wrong one.
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    websitedragon's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Can I not rewire it?
    I haven't compared the wire colour between my car and the switch but I have a feeling they are the same?

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Jace's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    11,472
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Theres a possibility you could, but your talking about a whole different loom, unless you know exactly what your doing, I'd save the bollock ache and get the proper switch.

    Don't take offence, but by asking if it's possible, I would hazard a guess that you wouldnt find it an easy job. Honestly fella, save the hasssle and get the real thing.

    The newer style mirrors have a heater element that turns on with the rear window heater. The older switch (if its the same as the one I got) had a little button on them and a light to say it was on.
    From the Southeast? Find your next meet here


    The difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence is limited.

    At least I have chicken!

    WellOilBeefHooked

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    norm29's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5,660
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    plus you can get a new switch for less than £10
    Car broken- A3 170 quattro s-line

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    websitedragon's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Or I could get an older switch for £5 haha but yeh I'll wait for the newer one in light of the heater info.

    When I asked about rewiring it I meant it in the sense of is all the mechanism the same so the connectors are just different. If it was then physically doing it wouldn't be a problem, just cut the wires, solder them together and cover in heat-shrink.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Keif's Avatar
    Going Topless!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Drives
    Astra 1.8 Twintop, Lotus Carlton, Meriva VXR and Nova
    Posts
    11,742
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by websitedragon
    If it was then physically doing it wouldn't be a problem, just cut the wires, solder them together and cover in heat-shrink.
    If you did that, you'll never get your door card off! If you needed to.

    There's more wires on the old one, due to the heated part of the mirrors being on the switch and the MK4's are linked into the heat rear window.

    Not worth the time and effort for saving £5 IMO.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    websitedragon's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ah I'd fit some connector

    I've gone for the proper one, I don't want a switch on it. Thanks for the info, you've saved me some hassle.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    websitedragon's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Typical, it arrived today but it isn't the right one. In the pic it looked like there was no wiring loom on that back but it turns out it did have but the numpty has just cut it off.

    1) I've wired it up manually (using a spare connector) and I have a black wire with a white line on it running spare, has anyone get an idea of what this is for? The switch is from a vectra and it is the new one where the heated mirrors should come on with the rear.

    2) The mirror selector switch is the wrong way around, I'll be able to fix this with a swap of wiring but thought I'd mention it incase it means something to someone.

    3) the heated mirror does not work, I've put the fuse in #41 however I've noticed a couple of people on here mention needing a relay?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. What mirror switch to use?
    By Dave One in forum Electrical
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-09-2009, 09:26
  2. mirror switch
    By robby3471 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-12-2004, 19:47

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •