Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: xbox install

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    coupe de ville's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    227
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Unhappy xbox install

    Right guys n gals need mega help
    ive got an xbox at home sat doing nothing plus in the car
    ive got a dvd pioneer AVH-P5700DVD headunit so decided
    to put them together and use the xbox in the car.
    so took the xbox video cable linked it ti the back on the
    headunit
    red audio input
    white audio input
    yellow video input
    so then figured il need an inverter to power the xbox so
    got one from my local factors ( quite big 500w max )
    plugged it all in and hey presto it interfears with my screen
    and makes a horrible noise through the speakers.
    so took the inverter back and tryed about 4-5 others but they
    all do the same but if i run an extension cable from the house
    and plug it in then it works fine.
    tryed it in the ciggy lighted plug and direct from the battery
    also put it in the front of the car and in the boot but still
    no joy.
    can anyone help please is it me doing wrong

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    rizo's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3,414
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    sorry mate, i had this problem when i has my PDA plugged in fro audio, only happened when it was charging through the car, i think you can buy some some of isolater to fix/help with it, autosparks should know more
    Astra VXR - Arden Blue, Diamond cut 19's, Cruise Control, Debaged, Folding Mirrors, CD70 NAVI and CID + Aux-In, Factory Bluetooth, Piano Black Interior Trim, Full Milltek Unresonated Exhaust

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    AJB2K3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,504
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Sounds like you need additional suppression (look in back of alpine catalog)
    Im trying to put mine in but im struggling to find a 12 psu adapter (12V direct not 12 inverted to 240)
    I'm like a bad penny, old, dirty, and appears when not wanted.
    Guess who's writing a victorian fantasy book. #JamesPurcell #The Diaries of James Purcell

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    joem_565's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,122
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i have got my xbox running with an inverter perfectly matey.

    all you need to do is seperate the power cables from the speaker cables, so if your inverter runs anywhere near your speaker cables, move it or them you should find it will stop.

    failing that halfords sell a supressor for a coupple of quid which you bolt to the alternator and connect to the power and it somehow stops all interference. but if i was you firstly i would look at re-routing the cables firstly.
    where have you put the xbox?? is it in the glovebox?
    learning the hard way

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    sri19's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i had an x box running on 6 screens in my cav, i used a really good quality aftermarket video lead, iirc it cost me £20, then i wrapped foil around it and either end i attached a short length of wire to the foil (bared the ends of the wire to make an electrical contact) then attached these to earth, then wrapped insualtion tape around it all to tidy it up. btw if you're runnig on more than one screen i suggest you use a video amplifier, veba do a good one. my picture quality was perfect. xbox's are very very sensitive to interference, also have you tried re-earthing the invertor? or do you just try another one on the same earth?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    adyjackson06's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    can an xbox 360 be ran from the boot?

    can an xbox 360 be ran from the boot?

    do i just need an inverter in the boot then conect xbox to monitor via extension wires? is it that simple???

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Maskell's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,489
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Adyjackson06, it is that simple, just wire it up and away you go, but I am not sure on what problems may arise with the 360 being in that environment!

    I know this is a mega mega mega old topic, but:

    You need to earth the metal caging of the xbox! Run a cable from the metal cage, inside the xbox casing, and to an earth point but not through the negative from the inverter!

    This worked for me, after trying several different options!

    Just for future reference lol


Similar Threads

  1. Xbox 360 install help needed
    By coupe de ville in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 14:01
  2. XBox 360 xbox live add me to friends list if you like
    By BaRt in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-06-2006, 23:39

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •