Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: MK5 owners help with regards to MFD/CID

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    MK5 owners help with regards to MFD/CID

    As I am not home at the mo and need to confirm something quite urgently can all the mk5 owners who have a CDC40 or CD70 can you check for me on your Car pass if the MFD/CID display has a code associated with it?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    sri-steve's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    theres not a code on my car pass

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks for that just what I wanted to hear.

    In case anyone is wondering I have been tinkering with the CANBUS system having a good looks around at how advanced it is well just playing around a bit and updated something without looking at what exactly it was, only to find that when I put the display in It displayed SAFE, please program volatile memory. Great I thought now Vaux will ask me for the code to reprogram it which as I am away from home will be a bit difficult.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    sri-steve's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    they will use the security code to reprogram

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    What security code that of the Radio, the car code or a Vauxhall specific one?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    sri-steve's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    25
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    it should say on your car pass

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    First you say

    Quote Originally Posted by sri-steve
    theres not a code on my car pass
    Then you say

    Quote Originally Posted by sri-steve
    they will use the security code to reprogram
    based on what, if you car code does not have a code on it, assuming you have a CDC40 or CD70 in your car?

    Quote Originally Posted by sri-steve
    it should say on your car pass
    And then this I will refer you to my original post

    As I am not home at the mo and need to confirm something quite urgently can all the mk5 owners who have a CDC40 or CD70 can you check for me on your Car pass if the MFD/CID display has a code associated with it?
    I am actually in Germany at the mo, but anyway I think a visit to the local Opel dealership will answer my question as obviously asking my question was a big waste of time!

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    MatG's Avatar
    Club Chairman
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    34,568
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Basil I hope you get it sorted mate and post up the details when it is I want to know what you are upto
    Been apart of the inner circle since 2001
    Click Me to Join Astra Owners Club Full or Lite Members

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Basil, althought not a mk5 astra, Jo's signum has a CD70 with the sat nav in it, thats got a code on the pass, not sure if its canbus or not - its an early 05 model on a 54 plate

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cant say it is too exciting Mat I , I just happened to be using a CANBUS gizmo (Well a CANBUS logger/Analyser/Programmer) and thought what the hey, I pretty much know the in and outs of the Merc and BMW systems so lets see how advanced the Opel/Vauxhall one is and just what it can do, and perhaps download some real time data. Nudge nudge wink wink say no more and all that I cant be that transparent can it?

    The problem was I hit enter in Update mode, which TBH is never a good idea when you did not make a mental note of what was there before. Now I have to guess what temperature the AC is at as all the display says is SAFE. My own fault I know but there you go but it has been quite an eye opener to say the least.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Calling All Old School Vauxhall Owners + Bus Owners!
    By amatthews45 in forum North West and North Wales Region
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2013, 16:22
  2. one for the RC owners and the 888 coupe owners
    By LIAM-SXI in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-11-2006, 20:21
  3. vxr owners and turbo owners
    By Doug_SRi in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 27-06-2006, 22:36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •